Cauliflower Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Elizabeth Mortag
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
We made this last night, both of us skeptical. We were both completely surprised. We made a homemade sauce recipe for it, too. We put a layer of the sauce, a layer smoked sausage slices, baby bella mushrooms and squash, with a layer of mozzarella and cheddar blend cheese topped off with big tomato slices. Amazing! Paired it up with a salad and unsweetened ice tea. I was also surprised that I was full and satisfied after I finished eating. Such a great alternative to the traditional. Big recommendations from our household!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Mortag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
My "dough" came out very messy and mushy. Not similar to pizza dough in any way really. Its not that it tasted bad, it just didnt taste like pizza at all. We had to eat it with a fork because it did not hold together like regular pizza at all. I think the problem was how liquidy the cauliflower was after washing it, blending it until it was shredded (because i dont have a food processor) and steaming it. If i try this again i will be sure to remove as much liquid as possible before mixing in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
The cauliflower was delicious but it didn't hold up as a crust, just fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Tasty, but this recipe fails to recommend that you flip the cauli crust before topping. That will help you get a firmer crust, which will give a more realistic pizza product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I absolutely loved this and it is a great alternative to pizza crust. However, I wouldn't go into this recipe thinking that it will taste just like pizza dough. It doesn't taste anything like it, and as such I wouldn't even call it "pizza" to your children (speaking from experience). Instead, try something like Veggie Delight with sauce, cheese and pepperonis on top ;). With all that said, I devoured mine and theirs. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Fischer
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Brief synopsis: The pizza turned out very tasty, but the crust was slightly too soft (not falling apart though). I will try again, but tweak some directions. :) Along with what everyone else is saying, you really need to remove as much water as possible from the cauliflower. I pressed it in a colander while hot, cooled it, squeezed out water with my hands (just took a scoop of "dough" and pressed between my palms as much as possible), and then squeezed in a paper towel. This wasn't enough. I spread the crust to about 1/5 - 1/4 inch thick and after cooking at 450 for 22 minutes it came out brown on the edges, but soft in the middle. It didn't crumble, but was definitely a fork and knife pizza. Taste wise you could tell that there was an extra flavor to it, but I didn't miss the dough at all (and I LOVE carbs). The crispier crust around the edges was delicious. I will definitely try this again, but will probably do the crust a bit thinner and will follow some of the other tips for having less liquid (such a microwaving instead of steaming). For toppings I did sliced tomatoes, pepperoni, mozzarella and parmesan cheeses (which is also what I used for the "Italian cheese blend" in the crust), and fire roasted tomato sauce. After baking the crust I added the toppings and baked for another 7 minutes or so (until the cheese was melty). I also planned on adding fresh basil but totally forgot. Overall I definitely enjoyed and will do again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Fischer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Hope, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I was so impressed with this crust, it was amazing! I did take into account the other reviews. I put a whole head in the processor and then put it in the microwave for 7 minutes. I then put it in a cotton dishcloth and wrung it out. I used only 1/2 c of cheese but doubled the other ingredients. We used a combo of Romano and cheddar and instead of parsley put in green onion. I baked it for 20 minutes and it was crispy and awesome! My family was happy and we will definitely make this a lot, only triple the recipe to have enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Hmmmm I wasn't able to really hold it had to use a fork, squeezed the cauliflower through dish towel too...not sure if I will try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I made the crust too thick and it was soggy. Thinner would probably be better and crispier. Next time, I will also dab out some of the moisture in the cauliflower before adding in the egg, etc. That might help to increase the crisp factor as well. Over all though, I like this recipe and the idea of getting to eat "pizza" without all the calories! I will try again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States