Cauliflower Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Overall, this recipie was very good. I used fresh cauliflower and strongly suggest cooking the califlower a bit before combining with the other ingredients and putting in the oven. Additionally, I used bacon bits and would strong suggest using crumbled real bacon. I think it would make all the difference in the world. A pretty easy recipie to pull together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I used fresh cauliflower and steamed it first. Also used french's fried onions instead of bacon...great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This was very good! Was looking for a new recipe for cauliflower and had all the ingredients on hand. I had bacon bits, and still thought it was teriffic, but I'll try again with crumbled bacon. Took another reviewer's advice and pre-cooked the cauliflower 3 minutes in the microwave before mixing with everything else and putting in the oven, and it came out perfectly. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This tasted amazing! I didn't have swiss cheese so I replaced it with Aged 2yr Balderson Royal Canadian Cheddar cheese. Also I took the advice and used blanched a head of cauliflower and pan fried a third pkg of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Hubby and I really enjoyed this. Super easy to throw together. Used this recipe as a jump point and used ingredients we had on hand...fresh cauliflower (steamed it a bit first), cream of asparagus soup (rather than mushroom), cheddar cheese (rather than swiss), leeks (because they needed to be used) and bread crumbs on top. Next time I'd like to actually try the swiss/mushroom combo, but the asparagus/cheddar combo was really good. I think just about any cream soup would work in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Great I Cooked the Cauliflower in the microwave for 2mins on high, and then sprinkled breadcrumbs over it at the end before cooking, so it had a crunchy texture on top. It has become a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I'm not a fan of cauliflower, and this was a great way to dress it up! It actually tasted very similar to potatoes au gratin. I had to sub mozzarella for the Swiss and bacon bits for real bacon; I hope to try it sometime with the right ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I had to make some substitutions based on what I had so that's why I rated it four stars. Instead of all cauliflower, I used a bag of frozen broccoli and cauliflower, and substituted canned fried onion rings instead of the bacon. Usually my husband doesn't like anything made with canned soups but he did like this one and so did I. I had some really good local swiss cheese too so that made it special. I will make it again, next time without all the substitutions. It's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Delicious! I followed this closely - but used fresh cauliflower - and microwaved it for about 4 min. in a large bowl with a little water in the base. I sprinkled garlic salt into the soup and milk mixture in place of a garlic clove. After mixing the cauliflower and soup mixture, I sprinkled with bread crumbs, bacon crumbles and grated white cheddar cheese (didn't have swiss on hand). The family members that like cauliflower, couldn't get enough! It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I used freshly crumbled bacon and a swiss/gruyere shredded cheese mix. I steamed fresh cauliflower for about 10 minutes so it was still a little hard/crunchy before putting it in the oven. The texture was PERFECT! My whole family loved it. It's surprising what you can make with a can of mushroom soup. This will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arzenika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Moist and Savory Stuffing

See how to make a simple, savory herb-seasoned stuffing.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States