Cauliflower Fried 'Rice' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This "Cauliflower Fried Rice" is EXCELLENT (chef worthy)! I had imagined so many adaptations to the recipe before I had actually made it (i.e. marinate the meat; switch up the pork for a combination of pork, chicken, and shrimp; add hot pepper sauce and/or fresh grated ginger) but I don't think there is much room for improvement in this recipe "as written" now that I have made it. If I didn't know that it was made with cauliflower, I would have never guessed (although the reheated "leftovers" did taste like cauliflower, but still delicious). My large "average" cauliflower yielded 40 ounces of shredded cauliflower, so a small cauliflower would have been enough. I deviated from the recipe only slightly: used garden-fresh peas (not frozen) and cooked them with the vegetables (not separately); added a couple stalks of diced celery and a cup of sliced button mushrooms (which were in my fridge needing to be used up); doubled up on the garlic (personal taste); and used GLUTEN-FREE LOW-SODIUM TAMARI (not regular gluten-containing soy sauce). I also used TOASTED SESAME OIL for the classical Chinese flavor (not almost flavorless PLAIN SESAME OIL). Thank you John Melinte for sharing your recipe. Thanks also to bd.weld for giving this recipe a gorgeous face which inspired me to make this recipe in the first place, and all the nice folks on THEBUZZ who recommended this recipe to me for my grain-free diet (scootersandi, Volleyballmom, gammaray, and a few others).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
So delicious! Only used 4 T soy sauce (I actually use coconut aminos), and I will make next time with 3. Luckily, I have a food processor, which made short work of ricing. Whole family loved this! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Its time consuming shredding the califlower but maybe thats cause i have a tiny grater. This was very good, and surprisingly filling. Good as a main dish or a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Used this recipe as a base and replaced the pork with shrimp. Delicious low carb alternative to fried rice! Hubs loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Don't miss fried rice anymore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Way too much soy sauce. Not enough cauliflower. A lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Made this for lunch for my fiance and myself and it was wonderful! Very easy to make, just a little prep work needed. I used some leftover shredded pork shoulder and just crisped it up a bit in the pan following the same steps in the recipe. This will be a regular lunch for us! I served with a baked eggroll on the side :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This recipe is unbelievable. I served it to 2 cauliflower non-lovers and didn't tell them what it was until they were finished raving about it. Hubby said it's up there with his other favourite recipe from AR. That is one high praise. I wasn't sure that straight veggies and pork was going to be enough for my big boys, so I made some rice anyways to add to the dish. The rice is now in my freezer. It was totally unnecessary. The directions don't tell you when to add the peas so I added them to the wok with the pork on it's second round. I also nuked the peas rather than use the stove top. I am so glad I tried this recipe. As another reviewer bd.weld said, "definitely a keeper". Thanks so much John Melinte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Outstanding and definitely a keeper. This recipe is so flavorful and versatile. The only thing I recommend is maybe one more clove of garlic. The cauliflower rice is spot on. Thank you John Melinte for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
So good !!! I love fried rice, but can't afford the carbs ! Thanks for the great recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by island girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States