Cauliflower-Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This can be a tasty low-fat soup. I omitted the butter and added chicken stock instead of water and used skim milk. Also, increased the onion and added 2 cloves of garlic. I, then blended the whole thing. Don't forget salt, though because it needs it. The carots and cheese give it a pleasing golden hue. The result was a 200 calorie, 6g fat soup with very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
I gave this 5 stars because I used this recipe in addition to another to get a fabulous result. I used 4 c. chicken broth and 1 c. fat free 1/2 and 1/2 as my liquids. I used 3 ribs of celery with their leaves, one whole carrot small diced, 1/2 large onion diced, a whole large head of cauliflower cut into florets and left out the potatoes completely. I used salt, pepper and thyme leaves as my seasonings and after cooked until everything was very tender, I processed in batches in my food processor(leaving some chunks for texture). I then returned to my soup pot and slowly stirred in about 1 1/2 c. of cheddar. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
This recipe was great! I did, however make some additions to it which made it even better. I added chicken broth instead of the water. I also had some leftover brocolli, spinach, and half of a tomato which I also added. In addition to that, I minced my veggies in the food processor instead of chopping them, which cut down on the cooking time of my soup. All in all it turned out just wonderful. Thank you for such an easily adjustable and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2000
A truly wonderful soup. Recipe makes just enough so it doesn't take long to make. I added 1 chicken boullion to it for extra flavor. The best soup I've ever made. Thanks Jane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindibakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I gave this recipe 5 stars. My family loves cauliflower and cheese...so I tried to please everyone. It was absolutley the best. My son had some friends over and it was dinner time and they helped themselves to 2 bowls each...My husband...who eats whatever I make no matter how horrible it was...just kept saying how delicious it was. I did tweak it a little...I didn't use any water I used 2 cans of chicken broth...no milk and no flour...I also didn't put the carrots in...I didn't want to over do the veggies. But I cooked this in my crock pot all day and the aroma was so tempting all day. Thankfully they all left me some too. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoeZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corfu, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This soup is very similar to one my mom makes and has passed on to me. In fact, its my daughter's favorite soup and she requests it regularly. I make a few changes: 1) I omit the potatoes 2) instead of putting the onions in the water to boil, I slice up a lb of smoked sausage (ie: Polska Kielbasa) and fry the slices with the onions. 3) Add the onions and drained sausage when the cauliflower and other veggies are tender 4)After adding the roux, use velveeta (and a little more of it) and stir until melted. Very good and creamy soup! This works as a great way to warm you winter nights!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Fantastic soup for cold weather. Used vege boullion for more flavor, left out celery, and added way more cheese. We use frozen cauli and it comes out fine. Overall a great soup and it whips up in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Nice and creamy but not enough flavor, next time I will be adding chicken broth, garlic and herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
I'm not crazy about cauliflower, but this soup is fantastic! You'd never even know it's cauliflower soup. Every person who's tried it, loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Quick, easy and Mmmm Mmmmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States