Cauliflower-Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is a delicious, hearty soup! Turns out so rich even using skim or 1% milk. Very easy to make too. I used more cauliflower and potatoes than the recipe called for so I boiled them with much more water than the recipe states. When they were tender I ladled most of the water out and kept it aside. I added the milk mixture and added the reserved water until it was the consistency I wanted. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Starting off by saying the end result was ok, but I added a lot to spruce up the bland flavor. I think for me next time I make it you have to have a meat base and not water and as well I would add meat. I took one suggestion from another rater who said to bled half of it, I wouldn't do that again as it gives a grainy texture to the soup. As well I found myself spending two hours to make this soup slow chopper I guess, just way to many steps. I'm glad I tried it tho and will do it again just with my spin on it. Thanks for the base tho i'v never made cauliflower soup before and this was not too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Just tried this today! Delicious. I made a few variations with ingredients as well, just playing around. I made adjustments to the amounts - I didn't use carrot or celery, I used more cheese at the end, I added a little bit more potato (**used red skin potatoes; so good in everything!) and cauliflower and adjusted liquid until it was right, ended up using less milk than instructed which was okay as I feel more would give it more of a chowder-feel than I wanted it to have. I threw some sliced garlic in with the milk and added crushed red pepper at the end. Also some left over spinach I realized I had even after it was done, just stirred in. Over all, a good soup! The downside is it is bland, even with adjustments, which not everyone would be a fan of. I do think if I had used chicken broth as the other reviews had, I would have had some more flavor in there, but still delicious, nonetheless. Will try vegetable or chicken broth next time for sure, and will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
The texture was so velvety and the flavor was incredible, I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Burt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I doubled this recipe and added extra cheese. It's a pretty good soup, very creamy and reminiscent of clam chowder. My girlfriend added New Orleans seasoning to her bowl to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Excellent Soup! I blended the ingredients in a blender and it gave it a beautiful smooth consistency. I forgot to add the celery though and chose not to add the cheese. It needed lots of salt and pepper. Next time I will add some chicken broth to give it a bit more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Fabulous 5 star soup recipe. This one has my husband’s seal of approval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Excellent, we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Lassiter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesnee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
My Husband LOVED this soup! He kept raving about it and how I should make a massive batch to put in the freezer so he can have it anytime. I added a bit more cauliflower 1-2 cups more and added sausage per someone else's review as well as used the immersion blender on it a little. It had a great consistency and felt hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Evers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe! I did have to alter just a bit due to low carb and what I had on hand. I had lots of cauliflower, so I used 1/2 cup butter and equal parts flour. I steamed the cauliflower and celery in chicken broth. I only added a little bit of chicken bullion and pepper. No carrots (didn't have any) and no potatoes (stupid low carb). I bet it would have been great with the carrots and potatoes. Thank you for a great recipe! Also used 2% milk. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States