Cauliflower-Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Like many others, I thought it had to much mustard. Will try again with a little less mustard or a different kind of mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I think this is a very good base to start from, and like several others, added a few things. I used vegetable stock in place of water, using a full cup and let it boil down. To the milk and roux, I used sharp cheddar, a few slices of American cheese, 1/2 cup of leftover "cream cheese sauce" from a local chain pizza joint, which is basically garlic and whipped cream cheese, and then I added a teaspoon of mustard seasoning (dry) and a pinch of cayenne. I also salted and peppered to taste. This going to be a staple here in this house! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
It was good, though a little bland. I took the suggestion of cutting down on the milk to 2 cups for that reason. It's a comfort food and I loved the texture of the veggies. However, the flour overpowered it all. I suggest using half as much or even less. It'll still come out creamy; just let it simmer with the milk a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Very good vegetable flavor and smoothness. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This was a great recipe! After looking at the other reviews, I also added chicken stock instead of the water, 2 minced garlic cloves and a dash of thyme. I did not use the butter but simply add 2 Tablespoons of flour to the vegetable /chicken broth mixture after it was cooked and then added the milk. Reducing the flour from 1/4 cup to 2 Tablespoons ensured that the soup was not too thick. This soup had great flavour. I had so much cauliflower on hand that I made 4 batches and froze it before adding the flour, milk and cheese. It will be so easy to pop it out of the freezer, add the remaining ingredients and finish the cooking process. This is a great soup for that cold wintery day and since cauliflower is one of those new super foods, it has great nutritional value and is low on fat as long as you use lower fat milk and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was a delicious way to use up leftover steamed cauliflower and cheese sauce. I added a pinch of cayenne and tsp of cumin for my own taste. I sauteed the onion, celery and carrot, then simmered with the potatoes in vegetable broth instead of water. I warmed the leftover cheese sauce to the same temp, then gradually added the cooked veggie mixture and broth. Added the already cooked cauliflower near the end. I used an immersion blender for a few seconds at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvandermeij

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
As is, I think this is a 3 star soup. It is significantly bland and is missing some necessary acidity. I was able to pull it up from a 3 star to nearly 5 stars by substituting the water for veggie broth as other raters suggested and then adding to the mix 1-2 TBS of vinegar, a half a cap full of lemon juice, 1tsp of garlic powder, and about 1/8tsp to 1/4tsp of cayenne pepper. I then served it with some egg knot rolls and garnished it with chopped scallions. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
This is a delicious, hearty soup! Turns out so rich even using skim or 1% milk. Very easy to make too. I used more cauliflower and potatoes than the recipe called for so I boiled them with much more water than the recipe states. When they were tender I ladled most of the water out and kept it aside. I added the milk mixture and added the reserved water until it was the consistency I wanted. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Starting off by saying the end result was ok, but I added a lot to spruce up the bland flavor. I think for me next time I make it you have to have a meat base and not water and as well I would add meat. I took one suggestion from another rater who said to bled half of it, I wouldn't do that again as it gives a grainy texture to the soup. As well I found myself spending two hours to make this soup slow chopper I guess, just way to many steps. I'm glad I tried it tho and will do it again just with my spin on it. Thanks for the base tho i'v never made cauliflower soup before and this was not too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Just tried this today! Delicious. I made a few variations with ingredients as well, just playing around. I made adjustments to the amounts - I didn't use carrot or celery, I used more cheese at the end, I added a little bit more potato (**used red skin potatoes; so good in everything!) and cauliflower and adjusted liquid until it was right, ended up using less milk than instructed which was okay as I feel more would give it more of a chowder-feel than I wanted it to have. I threw some sliced garlic in with the milk and added crushed red pepper at the end. Also some left over spinach I realized I had even after it was done, just stirred in. Over all, a good soup! The downside is it is bland, even with adjustments, which not everyone would be a fan of. I do think if I had used chicken broth as the other reviews had, I would have had some more flavor in there, but still delicious, nonetheless. Will try vegetable or chicken broth next time for sure, and will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States