Cauliflower Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 7, 2003
With some modification, this could be a great recipe! The crust was delicious but next time I will use more potato so it is thicker. I will also use dried mixed herbs, as I found the thyme a little too powerful. The custard topping was delicious! Next time I will use a combination of cauliflower and broccolli (although I think any vegetable would work well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was excellent. I used frozen hash browns and will try using frozen cauliflower next time just to make it more convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
I admit I used a frozen pie crust for this instead of making the potato crust (lazy lazy lazy!), but it came out wonderfully. The cauliflower filling was so tasty, you could just do that step of this recipe as a delicious vegetable side dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I love this! It's totally scrumptious. I grated some parmesan cheese in with the cheddar. Next time I might use some feta and mushrooms as well. I was impatient and didn't allow the potato crust to get crispy and brown, so the crust layer in tandem with the cheese tasted a lot like scalloped potatoes. If I ever serve this for breakfast, I'll double or triple the amount of egg and milk. Oh, and the basil and thyme are absolutely essential to the yumminess factor of this dish. I pulled it out of the oven and was so surprised at how amazing it smelled. The aroma was completely different from anything else I'd ever cooked, and I think a large part of it was due to the spices. I'm in love with this stuff, and I'll be making it again soon for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I have made this twice, first time i found the cauliflower a little undercooked and felt it could use a little something to perk it up. It was a good base recipe. Second time I used my steamer to help cook the cauliflower and carrots first. Then i added peas and extra spices. I also had leftover cooked ham that I cubed and added. A little extra cheese, about 2 cups (colby, old and monterey jack) finished this one dish meal off perfectly. Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
This dish had excellent flavor and was well worth the time and effort. It was more quiche-like than I expected but still delicious. Next time I may add some broccoli or mushrooms and cut back on the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This is surprisingly fantastic! I made no recipe variations and best of all...it was a hit with my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
My boyfriend and I loved this recipe, and it turned out fine in a deep 8-inch baking dish. More of a casserole than a pie, really. Also, we cut down the onion in both the crust and the filling by about half and it was still very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I enjoyed it very much, my family liked it and I cut off some of the fat by using low fat cheese and skimmed milk. It takes sometime getting it ready but it is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was really pretty good. I added some chopped spinach to it because I had some that needed to be used up. Followed the directions exactly...tasted good. Even the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States