Cauliflower Cheese Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by terka
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
this was pretty good, i liked it but my partner wasn't the biggest fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was a tasty dish. I shredded the potatoes and onion in my Cuisinart, so that made it much quicker. I thought that 1 tsp salt was just too much, so next time I will cut that in half. I also added broccoli and carrots to the cauliflower. Yum, I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I really enjoyed this dish for the interaction of the flavors of the cauliflower, thyme, potatoes, and cheese (I used Colby in place of Cheddar). Every step of the cooking required more time than stated in the recipe stated, but that might have been caused by my methods. My crust may have been thicker than others' because the pan was smaller, so it needed an extra 10 minutes to bake. Using frozen cauliflower, I found that the vegetable and seasoning mixture needed another 10-15 minutes to keep it from being too crunchy and I needed to add a little water to keep it from sticking. Finally, I had to bake it for an extra 10 minutes to set the custard. I also reduced the garlic by half and added quite a bit of fresh curly parsley. The only drawback I found to this dish is that the preparation required a lot of time with nearly continuous tending until it was assembled and went into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Ultimately I was not a fan of this recipe. I thought that the potato crust, while it sounded good, was a lot of work for not much flavor. This tasted fine, it was just a bit more time consuming and not generally worth the extra effort for my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
My husband LOVED this dish. He had me make it twice in one week. It worked very well with the simply potatoes pre-shredded hash browns. Also, I made it once with half cauliflower and half broccoflower, and that worked quite well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I made this for dinner last night, and it was OK. I did 1.5 times the recipe and baked it in a 8x11 glass pan. I also substituted broccoli for the cauliflower because that was what we had. Even at 1.5 times the recipe, this was a light dinner for 5 adults/older kids. Next time I will double the recipe and bake it in a 9x13 dish. The flavor was OK, everyone ate it, but I don't think this will be a favorite in our house. A good change from our usual dinners, but not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I made this with dinner tonight and my husband really loved it. I thought that the cauliflower needed to be cooked more before being put in the oven (I like mine pretty mushy). I also used extra herbs as a few people had suggested, but I think it was a bit much. I'll probably try this again, cooking the cauliflower more, cutting down on the thyme to what the recipe calls for, and adding more cheese. The potato crust was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is dangerous in my house! It was so good you went back for thirds and fourths! We all absolutely loved it. Only thing different we did was add more eggs and milk, but my eggs this week seem very small, and I think in the end we had way more cauliflower than this recipe would typically do. I also increased the thyme because theres nothing better than thyme and used oregano instead of basil since basil is unavailable here. The potatoe crust was just the right amount of thickness and yummyness. This recipe combined all of our faves--quiche, hashbrowns and cauliflower! Enjoy this one fresh out of the oven, or reheated later in the day, it was just as good if not better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I love this! It's totally scrumptious. I grated some parmesan cheese in with the cheddar. Next time I might use some feta and mushrooms as well. I was impatient and didn't allow the potato crust to get crispy and brown, so the crust layer in tandem with the cheese tasted a lot like scalloped potatoes. If I ever serve this for breakfast, I'll double or triple the amount of egg and milk. Oh, and the basil and thyme are absolutely essential to the yumminess factor of this dish. I pulled it out of the oven and was so surprised at how amazing it smelled. The aroma was completely different from anything else I'd ever cooked, and I think a large part of it was due to the spices. I'm in love with this stuff, and I'll be making it again soon for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
So yummy! Absolutely comfort food. I have been eating this for two days now and it's better each time! My hubby didn't seem to care too much for it, and my 9yr old loved it at first bite but then sort of changed his mind into the dinner...that's perfectly normal for him though so he doesn't count! I used mine as a side dish and used double the potatoes for the bottom as my fav is potatoes and i used extra cheese too. I cooked the cauliflower longer in the sautee pan also so it wouldn't be crunchy and recommend this step! It took me a long time for some reason to make this but i'll make it again for sure no matter who likes it or not! Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States