Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
We loved this recipe! Great variation of a cauliflower side dish. We omitted the green pepper and doubled the red pepper for added sweetness. And instead of corn flakes used French fried onions for added flavor. If someone else hasn't already done this I would be surprised. This dish is just begging for french fried onions. No need for that tsp of salt however in an already salty dish. Fantastic! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
it was just ok. wouldnt bother again. i was looking for something creamier.. to me it was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Tasted okay, but didn't really work out as expected. Could have been my sour cream...not sure. I used a half head of cauliflower (14 ounces) and the full amount of other ingredients. To save on dishes, I steamed the cauliflower in the microwave in the casserole dish then drained well, and then sprayed the inside edges of the dish with Pam. Mixed the other ingredients in a large measuring cup and added them to the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I tried to stick to the recipe as closely as possible my first time making it. I will remake it, but I will be making some changes next time. My review for the recipe as it is written is middle of the road. My 7 year old son and I both liked it, but my mother did not care for it and my 5 year old daughter thought that being required to eat it was a fate worse than death. I did not like red peppers in this recipe because I found the sweetness off putting. The biggest thing about this recipe that I consider a fail is the corn flakes. Mixing them with sour cream and baking them in the casserole rendered them unrecognizable blobs of mush. What I liked best about this recipe is that it is a vegetable casserole where the veggies are the star of the show. I felt like 4 out of 5 vegetable casserole recipes were calling for a can of condensed soup, and I am all set with that. Next time, I'm going to begin by using green peppers and half a minced onion and sauteeing them in bacon grease before adding them to the casserole. I will also roast the cauliflower florets instead of steaming them. I will use 8oz of sour cream and 8oz of greek yogurt mixed with the sharp cheddar, and I will skip the corn flakes. Instead of just the parm on the top, I will mix the parm with the corn flakes and some crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I used cheddar, Italian blend, and parmesan and also added salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Making this recipe I experienced one of those moments when I knew it just wasn't going to work out, but I tried anyway based on the better ratings. I followed the directions exactly. There is simply not enough sauce, and the sauce that was there congealed and separated. I don't know how a sour cream sauce can work if it isn't made with a roux as a base, and in this case, it didn't. The flavor was minimal because of the absence of sauce, and the casserole was dry on top but wet at the base. This was a culinary failure. The flavor was okay. I'm going back to classic cauliflower au gratin. At least my grandson, 3, enjoyed it because there was cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Liked this recipe a lot. Nice flavor. I would leave out the cornflakes next time and maybe increase the amount of cheese and sour cream, just to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I doubled this recipe and took it to a potluck supper in an attractive casserole dish and it was the hit of the party! Everyone came up to me and complimented me on it. It was the only dish that was eaten to the last drop, so I would definitely do it again. The best thing was that cauliflower was on sale the day I made it, so even though the cheese was a little pricey, it was economical to make. By the way, I added two cloves of minced garlic and stir-fried it with the peppers a little beforehand. I also used cayenne instead of paprika to give it a little bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was a good way to cook cauliflower. I think it could use a tad more flavoring, so I plan on playing with it. I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I was skeptical about this at first. Boy oh boy is this delicious! Even my picky six year old ate it. This will be a regular part of our meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States