Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This was a really good side dish that I tried this evening that my family enjoyed. I didn't have everything on hand to make this, so I had to omit and substitute a few items. It came out very tasty with my substitutions. I didn't have corn flakes, so I omitted the bread aspect. I didn't have sour cream, but I did have plain yogurt, that I used in place of the sour cream. I also only had a red bell pepper. I sautéed and added 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion and 3 large minced cloves of garlic to the 1/2 cup of chopped red bell pepper in olive oil with 1/4 tsp fresh ground pepper for several minutes and then added these sautéed vegetables to the cauliflower and then mixed in the cheddar cheese and yogurt. I didn't add salt since the cheeses have so much salt in them already. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I made this to go with pork chops and my hubby loved it. He even went back for seconds and that is very unusual for him with a veggie dish! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Very good. Loved it... I used bread crumbs instead of corn flakes. easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Thought I would love it but just didn't find it worth the expense. Bland as others stated. Kids did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Ok, not fab. Family wasn't overly excited and they love cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
We like this one a lot, but have always done it without the peppers. I never seem to have them when we need them. I just worked out the calories. If you use fat free sour cream, its approximately 120-130 calories(8 servings total). That's all going to depend on big the cauliflower head is. It's a nice filling side dish for those of us dieting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
We loved this recipe! Great variation of a cauliflower side dish. We omitted the green pepper and doubled the red pepper for added sweetness. And instead of corn flakes used French fried onions for added flavor. If someone else hasn't already done this I would be surprised. This dish is just begging for french fried onions. No need for that tsp of salt however in an already salty dish. Fantastic! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
it was just ok. wouldnt bother again. i was looking for something creamier.. to me it was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Tasted okay, but didn't really work out as expected. Could have been my sour cream...not sure. I used a half head of cauliflower (14 ounces) and the full amount of other ingredients. To save on dishes, I steamed the cauliflower in the microwave in the casserole dish then drained well, and then sprayed the inside edges of the dish with Pam. Mixed the other ingredients in a large measuring cup and added them to the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I tried to stick to the recipe as closely as possible my first time making it. I will remake it, but I will be making some changes next time. My review for the recipe as it is written is middle of the road. My 7 year old son and I both liked it, but my mother did not care for it and my 5 year old daughter thought that being required to eat it was a fate worse than death. I did not like red peppers in this recipe because I found the sweetness off putting. The biggest thing about this recipe that I consider a fail is the corn flakes. Mixing them with sour cream and baking them in the casserole rendered them unrecognizable blobs of mush. What I liked best about this recipe is that it is a vegetable casserole where the veggies are the star of the show. I felt like 4 out of 5 vegetable casserole recipes were calling for a can of condensed soup, and I am all set with that. Next time, I'm going to begin by using green peppers and half a minced onion and sauteeing them in bacon grease before adding them to the casserole. I will also roast the cauliflower florets instead of steaming them. I will use 8oz of sour cream and 8oz of greek yogurt mixed with the sharp cheddar, and I will skip the corn flakes. Instead of just the parm on the top, I will mix the parm with the corn flakes and some crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States