Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Thought I would love it but just didn't find it worth the expense. Bland as others stated. Kids did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Ok, not fab. Family wasn't overly excited and they love cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
We like this one a lot, but have always done it without the peppers. I never seem to have them when we need them. I just worked out the calories. If you use fat free sour cream, its approximately 120-130 calories(8 servings total). That's all going to depend on big the cauliflower head is. It's a nice filling side dish for those of us dieting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
We loved this recipe! Great variation of a cauliflower side dish. We omitted the green pepper and doubled the red pepper for added sweetness. And instead of corn flakes used French fried onions for added flavor. If someone else hasn't already done this I would be surprised. This dish is just begging for french fried onions. No need for that tsp of salt however in an already salty dish. Fantastic! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
it was just ok. wouldnt bother again. i was looking for something creamier.. to me it was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Tasted okay, but didn't really work out as expected. Could have been my sour cream...not sure. I used a half head of cauliflower (14 ounces) and the full amount of other ingredients. To save on dishes, I steamed the cauliflower in the microwave in the casserole dish then drained well, and then sprayed the inside edges of the dish with Pam. Mixed the other ingredients in a large measuring cup and added them to the casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I tried to stick to the recipe as closely as possible my first time making it. I will remake it, but I will be making some changes next time. My review for the recipe as it is written is middle of the road. My 7 year old son and I both liked it, but my mother did not care for it and my 5 year old daughter thought that being required to eat it was a fate worse than death. I did not like red peppers in this recipe because I found the sweetness off putting. The biggest thing about this recipe that I consider a fail is the corn flakes. Mixing them with sour cream and baking them in the casserole rendered them unrecognizable blobs of mush. What I liked best about this recipe is that it is a vegetable casserole where the veggies are the star of the show. I felt like 4 out of 5 vegetable casserole recipes were calling for a can of condensed soup, and I am all set with that. Next time, I'm going to begin by using green peppers and half a minced onion and sauteeing them in bacon grease before adding them to the casserole. I will also roast the cauliflower florets instead of steaming them. I will use 8oz of sour cream and 8oz of greek yogurt mixed with the sharp cheddar, and I will skip the corn flakes. Instead of just the parm on the top, I will mix the parm with the corn flakes and some crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I used cheddar, Italian blend, and parmesan and also added salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Making this recipe I experienced one of those moments when I knew it just wasn't going to work out, but I tried anyway based on the better ratings. I followed the directions exactly. There is simply not enough sauce, and the sauce that was there congealed and separated. I don't know how a sour cream sauce can work if it isn't made with a roux as a base, and in this case, it didn't. The flavor was minimal because of the absence of sauce, and the casserole was dry on top but wet at the base. This was a culinary failure. The flavor was okay. I'm going back to classic cauliflower au gratin. At least my grandson, 3, enjoyed it because there was cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Liked this recipe a lot. Nice flavor. I would leave out the cornflakes next time and maybe increase the amount of cheese and sour cream, just to make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States