Cauliflower and Kale with Mustard Currant Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This is a really yummy recipe, and easier than it sounds. The dressing really makes it perfect. I've made it twice, and was out of dijon the first time, so I added some molasses to regular mustard. I also substitute broccoli for cauliflower, as I'm not a big fan of cauliflower. I steamed both the kale and the broccoli, rather than boiling them. This is an excellent way to cook kale, and great as leftovers too! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
A good recipe but not one of the best. Needed a lot more of the sauce. I ended up adding more lemon juice and olive oil in the end. We all enjoyed it served over rice as a main dish -- I just wanted more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
not a huge fan of this at all! My roommates didn't like it either. I love cauliflower and kale, and this just didn't do either vegetable justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
We really liked this unique combination of flavors. The lemon really came through, and the tartness was balanced perfectly by the raisins (I used flame, which are larger, softer, and sweeter). The first bite was a little iffy, but the flavor grew on us. I doubled the dressing, and I steamed the kale rather than boiling it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
pretty good. i doubled the dressing, as others recommended, but it wasn't liquidy enough to serve over rice as another mentioned. i think if i do this again, or w/ the leftovers i have, i will put roasted hazelnuts or almonds. it seems to need that sort of texture. i also suggest making the dressing/currants about 30-60 minutes ahead of time to allow the currants to plump more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Not good. I was skeptical of the lemon-dijon combination before making this dish; after trying it I realized my skepticism was warranted. It's not a good combo at all. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
i tried this recipe with brown spicy mustard instead of the dijion and it worked very well. you could also use lime juice if you don't have lemon. i found this dish to be great on salmon or chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
We REALLY enjoyed this recipe! This was our first experience with eating kale and found it to be a great winter vegy. We will have this recipe again! Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
We doubled the amount of the mustard currant dressing. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was great! I used broccoli instead of cauliflower and raisins instead of currants, and it tasted wonderfully unique. I also added a little bit of red bell pepper for color, and I made much more of the dressing than the recipe called for. Try serving over quinoa! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States