Cauliflower and Kale with Mustard Currant Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This is a really yummy recipe, and easier than it sounds. The dressing really makes it perfect. I've made it twice, and was out of dijon the first time, so I added some molasses to regular mustard. I also substitute broccoli for cauliflower, as I'm not a big fan of cauliflower. I steamed both the kale and the broccoli, rather than boiling them. This is an excellent way to cook kale, and great as leftovers too! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This was great! I used broccoli instead of cauliflower and raisins instead of currants, and it tasted wonderfully unique. I also added a little bit of red bell pepper for color, and I made much more of the dressing than the recipe called for. Try serving over quinoa! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
A good recipe but not one of the best. Needed a lot more of the sauce. I ended up adding more lemon juice and olive oil in the end. We all enjoyed it served over rice as a main dish -- I just wanted more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I love this recipe. A delicious way to eat those cruciferous vegetables that are so good for you. I've made it a few times now. I cook the cauliflower and kale together in a big pot with a pasta insert (instant steamer!) I also doubled up the sauce to add a little more flavor -- although I thought it was pretty good with the single batch of sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Venus
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
We really liked this unique combination of flavors. The lemon really came through, and the tartness was balanced perfectly by the raisins (I used flame, which are larger, softer, and sweeter). The first bite was a little iffy, but the flavor grew on us. I doubled the dressing, and I steamed the kale rather than boiling it. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
pretty good. i doubled the dressing, as others recommended, but it wasn't liquidy enough to serve over rice as another mentioned. i think if i do this again, or w/ the leftovers i have, i will put roasted hazelnuts or almonds. it seems to need that sort of texture. i also suggest making the dressing/currants about 30-60 minutes ahead of time to allow the currants to plump more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I followed a reviewer's note on doubling the sauce. the result: delicious!!!! love it, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I just loved this recipe. I was a little wary when I looked at the ingredients, but the flavors combine to form such a clean and summery taste. I substituted raisins for currants, as that's all I had on hand. I served it warm along side a mandarin pork dish, but I actually enjoyed it better cold/room temperature the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Really good dressing. I didn't have lemon, so I used vinegar instead, and even so, the combination of flavors is great. I used less olive oil than listed and recipe worked out fine. Would use this on a variety of vegetables in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Great mix of these veggies together. I choose to add honey to the sauce to make it a sweet dish..didn't have currants, so used dried cranberries. I enjoyed this alot, my husband would have preferred it savory..so maybe I'll follow the recipe, omitting the honey..and getting some currants ( or raisens) . Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Garlic Mashed Cauliflower

Smooth, creamy, low-carb mashed cauliflower is a tasty alternative to potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States