Cauliflower and Carrot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Because of the eggs in the hollandaise sauce, when baked, it becomes souffle-like, there really isn't much "sauce". If you don't have much "sauce" after baking, either reduce the veggies or increase the sauce. Reducing cooking time also may help. I double the sauce and use a 1.5 qt casserole dish. If you didn't like my dish before, please try it again using my suggestions. Please do not substitute the vegetables and then give my recipe a bad review, that is comparing apples to oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This recipe has become a family staple. I steam the carrots and cauliflower and then pour a prepackaged béchamel or hollandaise sauce onto the veggies in an oven dish. I sprinkle the top with crushed crackers and/or bread crumbs. No butter, no salt. it comes out superb. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacebase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This was definately A+, everyone at our Christmas dinner loved it! Some people added a little more hot sauce, and still raved over this one. We will definately make it again for our next family get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Use a smaller dish and double the hollandaise sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
my family raved about this recipe. I added several more kinds of veggies, such as onions, bell pepper and mushrooms, so had to make a little more sauce. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I used a package of Hallandaise sauce and added: 1/2 cup wine and an extra bit of milk (I wanted to double the sauce package..worked well), and into the sauce i put diced garlic chives, roasted red pepper seasoning, shrimp, cheese, ,lemon juice and used melba toast and croutons oiled up with salt and parsley for the gratin topping. I also used zucchini because it is a moist veggie.....turned out FABULOUS..i can imagine this being quite tasteless without the my fixings...and 2 tbs hot sauce...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Fantastic! I took the suggestions in previous reviews and doubled the sauce. It was rich and creamy and really complimented our Christmas ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by decostef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I fed this to 10 people - adjusting for ten servings, and every single one raved how good it was. I felt like a culinary genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by therwil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Doubled the sauce as suggested by another reviewer. Otherwise there would have been no sauce at all. We didn't find it very zippy, but we're Texans and, admittedly like things to be extra zippy. The dish simply wasn't to our liking at all. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
tasty. Even my picky husband liked the hot sauce kick. I added more than your recipe and it was great!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Tahoe, California, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States