Cauliflower and Broccoli Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Followed other reviews and reduced milk to 1 1/2 cups and cooked the broc/caul in the microwave for 5 minutes. I added sliced smoked sausage and panko crumbs and olive oil to the cheese before sprinkling on top. Pretty good recipe - ONLY IF you reduce the milk. I would also be careful about the cooking the veg too well before - mine was just on the edge of mushy and I cut them in pretty big chunks. Even with 1 head of broccoli and 1 head of cauliflower and the added sausage, there was still lots of extra sauce. Next time I may add some cooked macaroni for a one-dish meal. I definitely recommend adding panko to the cheese on top - makes a nice, crispy crust. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Hmm. Neither bf nor I liked it. I'm guessing bf didn't like the mustard in the sauce. Sometimes I can get away with putting it in stuff, sometimes I can't. I didn't like it either, though, and I love mustard. I'm definitely glad I only used 1 cup of milk in this; it would have been way too soupy otherwise. However, that could have made the sauce too strong for us . . .not really sure what our problem with this is, really. Looks like we'll have to find another recipe for a broccoli cheese combo. I didn't use cauliflower because I didn't have any, so I just used all broccoli. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Hubby loved it..Made quiche with it and he ate the veggies instead..Making tomorrow night as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is soooo good! I made this for a Sunday dinner and was asked for the recipe because it was so tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I only used 1 1/2 c milkand this was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
excellent - made with just cauliflower
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
very blah and watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Like this recipe a lot. Only thing I do differently is to microwave the cauliflower and broccoli until not quite done, then proceed with the remaining instructions. I found the cauliflower and broccoli to be a bit mushy when boiled. Great way to get 'good for you' veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
As written it is 1 star but reduce the milk by 1 cup and use extra old cheddar it is 4 stars. I accidently added to much red pepper and it was very spicy but no one complained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizzysmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very tasty. Just a little salty, but not sure how to judge salt and pepper to taste before the cheese is added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizajane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States