Cathy's Peanut Butter Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
These are the exact same ingredients and amounts for my recipe, but it's made in the microwave! Put brown sugar, butter and milk in a large bowl and stir. Microwave 3 min. on HI. Stir. Microwave 3 more min. on HI. Stir. Microwave 2 min. on HI. While in for the last 2 minutes, stir the cornstarch into water to dissolve. When the very hot, bubbly mixture comes out of the microwave, immediately stir in the cornstarch mixture, vanilla and peanut butter. Stir QUICKLY (it sets up really quick) and pour into a foil lined 8 x 8 pan (or 2 foil lined loaf pans). Cool (no need to refrigerate). I've wondered if using less cornstarch (or none) would make it not set up while stirring in the last three ingredients and it's sometimes dry. Delish though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
On my first attempt, I followed the recipe to the letter. Used my digital instant-read candy thermometer, heated to 238 degrees. My fudge came out very sticky/tacky, not the smooth crumbly texture I wanted. I'm confused as to why you don't let the mixture set like with other fudge, and instead stir immediately. I think I will try it again, omitting the corn starch, letting it set first, and then adding peanut butter and vanilla warmed to 110 degrees (to prevent the fudge from seizing on contact). I gave it 3 stars because it failed for me when I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is my families favorite fudge. I tried a different recipe this year and they all wanted to know how the fudge got ruined. I threw the new recipe out and going back to this one. Very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I made this for holiday gifting and it turned out fabulous, one of the best peanut butter fudge recipes I have ever used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This stuff is great! Had to hurry up though because it does set fast. I made it even better by pouring melted Hersey's milk chocolate chips on top. About 2 cups per batch. Tastes just like a peanut butter cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Jerome, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
A delicious fudge recipe and easy to make. I did as another reviewer recommended and let it sit for 10 minutes before adding the cornstarch. I also substituted the milk for light cream, gave it a nice and creamy texture. Will definitely be making this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dominion, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
My husband and I just made the fudge and it has a great texture....very smooth and creamy. It also had the deep peanut butter flavor we were craving and I think the brown sugar brought the flavor out because I've never made fudge with brown sugar before. Very good recipe. There was just "something" missing from the recipe but I can't figure it out so that's the only reason for this middle rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Terrific easy fudge - and it has as really intense peanut butter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I have some experience making fudge and I have a candy thermometer. I followed the directions exactly except for one small change. I used half & half instead of milk. Overall, I thought this was a great recipe! A REAL recipe for fudge without all the marshmallow creme junk. A wonderful peanut butter taste! I was impressed! The only thing that I wasn't crazy about was the fudge seemed a bit too moist and soft for my taste. It was still firm, but I think it could be improved. I will try this recipe again, but I will probably wait at least 10 minutes before adding the peanut butter and vanilla. Highly recommended! I will be trying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This is the one of the best pb fudge recipes I have ever tried! Very easy & quick. Hard to stop eating it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay

Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States