Cathy's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe 3 times and every time it just Super good ! I had other good recipes but like this one better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Yummy! I didn't have sour cream so I used kefir used 1/3 wheat flour, added walnuts and sprinkled cinnamon and sugar in the pan. Best banana bread ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Great recipe! I don't use margarine, so I used butter instead. I didn't have sour cream in my fridge so I subbed in Greek yogurt, even better. FYI, Greek yogurt is a great sub for anything that needs sour cream, plus it has more benefits. I also threw a dash of cinnamon and brown sugar, in addition to the white sugar. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Delicious! I make banana bread often but just made this and my husband got home from work, tasted and just said this was the best bread I ever made. Thanks Cathy!! I did use whole wheat flour and 6 small'ish bananas so after mashed it was a little more than a cup. I also added a very small dash of nutmeg and cinnamon. I made 4 small loaves and added mini-chocolate chips to two of my loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Made for the first time and came out delicious. We added walnuts and raisins for extra textures and flavors. Also used unprocessed cane sugar. Was a favorite with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Great Recipe! I have tried others and they are not as good as this one! THank you so much for sharing. I have followed exactly the recipe but added walnuts to the ingredients. It made the house smell sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Don't use this one!,,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed DeBoer
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Fantastic!! Very easy and simply delicious! I changed things slightly. Used 1 cup sour cream, and 1/3 cup greek yogurt, added 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice to the batter. Then before I popped the loaves into the oven, I sprinkled a mixture of 1/4 cup brown sugar, 3 tblsp flour, 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 2 tblsp melted butter, over the top. Wonderful flavor and very moist and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed DeBoer
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I grow my own bananas and I make this everytime they are ripe. Sometimes I add nuts or chocolate child. Or even homemade grsnola. This recipe works everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
If you are looking for an easy, simple banana bread recipe that is moist and stays true to the banana flavor this is IT! This recipe takes more time to prepare since you don't just mash the bananas and throw it all in the bowl and mix it up. The end result is an amazingly moist bread with a slightly crunchy/chewy crust. I cooked it at 350 in a 9x5" bread pan. The batter prepared as above filled 1 whole 9x5" bread pan instead of 2 smaller 7x3" that the original poster wanted. It did take about 75 minutes to bake all the way through. ( 1 hr 10 mins ) For those who complained about it not being cooked inside but the outside was done, just add foil over the top if you need to cook it an extra 20 mins beyond what the recipe calls for. It will keep the top of your bread from burning while allowing you more time to cook the inside. Def recommend this recipe though next time I will add my own tweaks to it, perhaps a layer of chocolate chips in the middle or some cocoa added to it to make it chocolate banana bread, etc. it's a good foundation for a banana bread if you don't mind taking the extra steps to prep it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Florida, USA
Living In: Carson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States