Cathie's Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I quadrupled this recipe for an office potluck at work, what a hit! Here are some of the changes I made: I sauteed the bacon, onions and celery, and added the flour to the bacon fat to make the roux. I love potatoes in my clam chowder so I diced up a couple pounds of potatoes and simmered them in a large stock pot of the clam juice and water. After the potatoes were tender, I added to bacon/onion/celery roux and thickend the broth. Then I added some milk and cream and the minced clams. It was so simple and sooooo good! This recipe is going in my book of keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This recipe is excellent, and very easy. Instead of using bottled clam juice, which can be gritty, I prefer the St.Ours clam broth you buy in a package and mix with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This clam chowder is awesome! I don't like potatoes in soup, so I'm always picking them out. When I found this without potatoes, I had to try it. I've made it twice now and it's is absolutely the best chowder I've ever had. Very easy to make and full of flavor. Thank you, Cathie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Absolutely delicious. My family just loved this recipe. Kids gobbled it up and husband had thirds!!! I changed the recipe a bit. I did added one more tbsp of flour and used 500ml of half and half and 500ml of milk. I also did not use clam juice as I did not have any. I cooked the chowder but left out the clams and let it simmer while I steam cooked the fresh clams with white wine and garlic butter. I added the 2 cups of stock from the steaming of the clams to the chowder and then, just before serving the chowder, added the chopped clams. I did not want the clams to over cook. It was just perfect this way. Our family likes a mild clam flavor and this chowder was perfect. All the flavors were a perfectly delicious combination. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Wonderful, chuncky and flavor-filled chowder. I substituted 2 small potatoes (red & russet) for the celery and served with crusty warm french bread. Also added some extra flour to thicken up. Absolutley fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIA1966

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I was disappointed with this recipe. I followed the directions exactly (except where it forgot to tell us when to add the additional clam juice, i did that on my own) and it "broke" almost immediately. I also was not crazy about the flavor/consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This has been an OMG GOOD chowder, But.. If you have more that 2 people eating it, You should double or even triple the recipe amounts. I had to make a second trip to the store because my daughter had her boyfriend over. To coin a contemporary phrase (WE TORE IT UP!!) Had to add a little more flour and water as a thickening agent but UM, UM, that stuff was great. Heaven on the lips. Took the Chill off A Cold and Snowy Day in Colorado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Great! Trying to do the low carb thing, but was afraid chowder would be too boring without potatoes. NOT! So full of chunks you don't even notice there are no potatoes. I did substitute milk for half and half, and added thyme and garlic salt. Very Yummy! Will make over and over! Thanks for posting this Cathie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I have made this several times and it is excellent. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
and to think... i thought i didn't even like chowder. this was amazingly good and easy. ty for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States