Cathie's Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Outstanding! Only used to bottles of clam juice but it still turned out perfectly. It was one of the best clam chowders I have made yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene937

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Valley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I have made this several times and it is excellent. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I love it! I often make little cookbooks for my friends and family and I put this in it. They tried it and all told me to give it a 5-star. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Great! Trying to do the low carb thing, but was afraid chowder would be too boring without potatoes. NOT! So full of chunks you don't even notice there are no potatoes. I did substitute milk for half and half, and added thyme and garlic salt. Very Yummy! Will make over and over! Thanks for posting this Cathie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I quadrupled this recipe for an office potluck at work, what a hit! Here are some of the changes I made: I sauteed the bacon, onions and celery, and added the flour to the bacon fat to make the roux. I love potatoes in my clam chowder so I diced up a couple pounds of potatoes and simmered them in a large stock pot of the clam juice and water. After the potatoes were tender, I added to bacon/onion/celery roux and thickend the broth. Then I added some milk and cream and the minced clams. It was so simple and sooooo good! This recipe is going in my book of keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
My mother-in-law thought this was spectacular and I'd have to agree. It cost a fortune, but I doubled the recipe. Eight cups of clams doesn't come cheap, though one could get by with less than that, no doubt. I served this with "Best Ever Cheese Bread," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Tasty but wasn't quite thick enough. Probably needs more flour for a thicker roux. I added potatoes, which is a nice addition to chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Wonderful, chuncky and flavor-filled chowder. I substituted 2 small potatoes (red & russet) for the celery and served with crusty warm french bread. Also added some extra flour to thicken up. Absolutley fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIA1966

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This recipe is excellent, and very easy. Instead of using bottled clam juice, which can be gritty, I prefer the St.Ours clam broth you buy in a package and mix with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States