Cathie's Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This has been an OMG GOOD chowder, But.. If you have more that 2 people eating it, You should double or even triple the recipe amounts. I had to make a second trip to the store because my daughter had her boyfriend over. To coin a contemporary phrase (WE TORE IT UP!!) Had to add a little more flour and water as a thickening agent but UM, UM, that stuff was great. Heaven on the lips. Took the Chill off A Cold and Snowy Day in Colorado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
My mother-in-law thought this was spectacular and I'd have to agree. It cost a fortune, but I doubled the recipe. Eight cups of clams doesn't come cheap, though one could get by with less than that, no doubt. I served this with "Best Ever Cheese Bread," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I quadrupled this recipe for an office potluck at work, what a hit! Here are some of the changes I made: I sauteed the bacon, onions and celery, and added the flour to the bacon fat to make the roux. I love potatoes in my clam chowder so I diced up a couple pounds of potatoes and simmered them in a large stock pot of the clam juice and water. After the potatoes were tender, I added to bacon/onion/celery roux and thickend the broth. Then I added some milk and cream and the minced clams. It was so simple and sooooo good! This recipe is going in my book of keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Great! Trying to do the low carb thing, but was afraid chowder would be too boring without potatoes. NOT! So full of chunks you don't even notice there are no potatoes. I did substitute milk for half and half, and added thyme and garlic salt. Very Yummy! Will make over and over! Thanks for posting this Cathie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I love it! I often make little cookbooks for my friends and family and I put this in it. They tried it and all told me to give it a 5-star. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I have made this several times and it is excellent. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Outstanding! Only used to bottles of clam juice but it still turned out perfectly. It was one of the best clam chowders I have made yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene937

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Valley, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Absolutely delicious. My family just loved this recipe. Kids gobbled it up and husband had thirds!!! I changed the recipe a bit. I did added one more tbsp of flour and used 500ml of half and half and 500ml of milk. I also did not use clam juice as I did not have any. I cooked the chowder but left out the clams and let it simmer while I steam cooked the fresh clams with white wine and garlic butter. I added the 2 cups of stock from the steaming of the clams to the chowder and then, just before serving the chowder, added the chopped clams. I did not want the clams to over cook. It was just perfect this way. Our family likes a mild clam flavor and this chowder was perfect. All the flavors were a perfectly delicious combination. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
and to think... i thought i didn't even like chowder. this was amazingly good and easy. ty for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States