Cathie's Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I have made this several times and it is excellent. Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I love it! I often make little cookbooks for my friends and family and I put this in it. They tried it and all told me to give it a 5-star. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Great! Trying to do the low carb thing, but was afraid chowder would be too boring without potatoes. NOT! So full of chunks you don't even notice there are no potatoes. I did substitute milk for half and half, and added thyme and garlic salt. Very Yummy! Will make over and over! Thanks for posting this Cathie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatPurrson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I quadrupled this recipe for an office potluck at work, what a hit! Here are some of the changes I made: I sauteed the bacon, onions and celery, and added the flour to the bacon fat to make the roux. I love potatoes in my clam chowder so I diced up a couple pounds of potatoes and simmered them in a large stock pot of the clam juice and water. After the potatoes were tender, I added to bacon/onion/celery roux and thickend the broth. Then I added some milk and cream and the minced clams. It was so simple and sooooo good! This recipe is going in my book of keepers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
My mother-in-law thought this was spectacular and I'd have to agree. It cost a fortune, but I doubled the recipe. Eight cups of clams doesn't come cheap, though one could get by with less than that, no doubt. I served this with "Best Ever Cheese Bread," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Tasty but wasn't quite thick enough. Probably needs more flour for a thicker roux. I added potatoes, which is a nice addition to chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Wonderful, chuncky and flavor-filled chowder. I substituted 2 small potatoes (red & russet) for the celery and served with crusty warm french bread. Also added some extra flour to thicken up. Absolutley fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIA1966

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This recipe is excellent, and very easy. Instead of using bottled clam juice, which can be gritty, I prefer the St.Ours clam broth you buy in a package and mix with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This clam chowder is awesome! I don't like potatoes in soup, so I'm always picking them out. When I found this without potatoes, I had to try it. I've made it twice now and it's is absolutely the best chowder I've ever had. Very easy to make and full of flavor. Thank you, Cathie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States