Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I was first drawn to this recipe because I had never used tomato soup (besides on its own) or salsa in a soup and I wanted to try it. I made a couple changes though, to save time I cubed the raw chicken and cooked it in the olive oil on a pan with the onions and crushed garlic, then let the chicken cool before pulling with my hands. Then I poured the medium chunky salsa and tomatoes (i used rotel tomatoes and chilies instead) in a pot with the tomato soup but only used 1 and a half cups of water, I figured I would add water as I went (didn't need anymore because of the liquid in the tomatoes). I added 3 bay leaves, dried parsley, onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder (i didn't need any salt because chili powder is salty) and I put in a couple tablespoons of chicken Better Than Bullion instead of the cubes, much easier and tastier I think. I decided I wanted it thick so I put in almost the whole container of SC and also added a half teaspoon of corn starch mixed with a tablespoon of water. Then I put in about half a cup of raw rice. It wasn't spicy so I added about 10 drops of green Tabasco and a drop or two of franks red hot (i would have used Sriracha but I was out), and some extra pepper. Also instead of chili beans I used one jar of kidney and one of black beans rinsed. I added cumin too for an extra kick and some adobo. It came out awesome! Basically a white chicken chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My family loves this soup and it is requested several times a year, especially during cold winter months. I only make a couple of slight changes, just for my own personal preference (I use rotel and tomato sauce instead of the whole and diced tomatoes). And I usually just bake a whole, small chicken and pull the meat off instead of the chicken breasts. Very good, hearty soup! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Can I please say that this is the most amazing 'meal' recipe I have found on Allrecipes? I love it, love it. I'm excited when I find a leftover batch in the freezer. Oh my goodness. It has earned a permanent place in my go-to meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great recipe. I made it with ingredients that I had on hand and had to make two substitutions. Tomato sauce for the condensed soup and black beans for chili beans. I had medium salsa on hand and it turned out to be the perfect amount of spice for us. Excellent! It makes a lot of soup, enough for many meals for the two of us. Instead of freezing extra portions like I usually do, I took it to work to share with my staff. They all liked it a much as my husband and I did. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this soup! I've made it about a dozen times. Now that I'm a spicy chicken veteran, I've figured out a few changes that really make the recipe POP! I substitute black beans for chili beans, add some cilantro and squeeze in the juice of a half a lime. I use rotisserie chicken from the store to save time. And to save calories, I garnish with plain greek yogurt, instead of sour cream. I also add a few dashes of hot sauce, to ensure this "spicy" soup stands up to its name. It's a rare rainy day in LA - so I'm planning to make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Good & spicy...it makes a lot of soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
So easy to make and taste absolutely great!! I used tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes and it turned out wonderfully. This recipe is definitely a keeper; my kids even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I made this super easy on myself and just threw everything into a crockpot in the morning. The chicken breasts were frozen, but they cooked just perfect in the juices all day. I just took out the chicken after it was done and shredded it up... sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
We loved this. My husband and I like things with flavor! This was so yummy. You can make it as spicy as you want!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Great!!!!! This soup had so much flavor. I omitted the chili (because I didn't have any), and added potatoes (boiled) to it. I cut the potatoes into small cubes. Reaaaallly delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States