Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Irony? I've only been cooking for the family for a year and this is the very first soup that I have made. At the risk of sounding immodest, this is the best soup that I have ever had. My wife didn't quite say the same but she did say that it was better than anything she has made herself. PS: I followed the advice of "Chef 101" review: Cook onions and garlic in thick bottomed pot, add dry spices and herbs, add uncooked chicken (small cuts) until no longer pink, then add canned ingredients. One can of diced tomatoes and one can of whole tomatoes. I did use canned corn though. This is going on the menu for one of our next dinner invites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Amazingly delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
We love this recipe and it feeds a crowd when needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
It is fairly bland and has WAY too much chicken. And coming from someone who likes a meaty soup, that is saying a lot. I had to add a little extra salt, an extra table spoon of chili powder, a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, and two roasted red peppers. I could have easily halved the amount of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Beatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
It was bland. The chicken didn't absorb the flavors of the rest of the soup. In all fairness when the entire contents of the soup is consumed in one spoon-filled bite, the taste is tolerable (especially considering what little went in to it). Otherwise, there was nothing special about this soup to justify purchasing the ingrediants. Well that's not entirely correct. If you're low on funds and want to make a food which fills quickly and produces lots of re-heatable meals, I'd suggest whipping this up for yourself to fight back starvation. If you want to savour a delicious, interesting, well-harmonized soup that's meant to be enjoyed...I'd suggest you seek elsewhere. So I guess this soup does have its purposes and worth. I can't imagine what would make this soup taste better. Cilantro? Lime zest? I just don't know. Regardless, it is edible and overall cheap to make, and produces a good amount of leftovers. Do with it as you please, for I'm probably not going to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
this recipe was fantastic and made a large quantity for our big family. we typed it with shredded cheddar cheese.I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
A lot of ingredients for just a so so soup. I had to add Cumin and Oregano for more Mexican spice. 2 cans of diced tomatoes is plenty. Could to use all the broth. Pan not big enough and it would've been too soupy for my taste. Hoping its better the second day. I chose to use the sour cream on top of each individual bowl and crunch some tortilla chips on top. Also added some chopped jalapeño to onion mixture. Used 2 tbs. chili pwd. Originally this was just a chicken chili. Guess I was looking more for a tortilla soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Great recipe. It was delish. I added black beans to mine. I was even able use the leftover chicken stock to make a chicken noodle soup as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is an excellent recipes with lots of flexibility! I cooked it in my pressure cooker and it came out perfect. Like others already mentioned, I used frozen corn instead of canned corn. I also added some more chili beans since we really like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delicious on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States