Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is good. Need to be in the mood for it - but brings a different flavor to a chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meika
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used most of the basic ingredients of this recipe. On top of that, I prepared it in the crockpot. Since I was preparing it for two adults and our two yr old, I had to adjust the servings. 2 cups water and cooked the chicken and seasonings for 90 mins, took the chicken out to shred, placed the rest of the ingredients, salsa, tomato soup, diced tomatoes, and chicken into the pot for the remaining time left. After coming in from the SNOW and COLD, this was right on time to warm us up. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Unbelievably amazing!! I make this all the time. I make a regular batch and freeze in serving size portions. Makes it great for a quick lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a delicious recipe and my family loved it too! And it makes a whole lot of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This stuff is amazing! Followed the recipe pretty closely, but I probably added a little extra chicken and chicken broth, plus added a can of black beans. As some suggested, I used Ro-Tel crushed tomatoes with cilantro, etc. I only had a little parsley left so omitted that by necessity. I served crushed blue and yellow tortilla chips with it, plus yogurt or sour cream, white rice if anyone wanted it with rice, and some shredded Mexican cheese. This stuff is to-die-for! Mine made a huge batch, so it should be good for several meals. I plan to make this a regular in my household! Thanks, Catherine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Loved this. We grilled the chicken after boiling for a bit of charbroil but otherwise followed directions. So wonderful, we will be eating this all week!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is my favorite soup recipe. I have been making it for several years and it is a hit with the whole family. Perfect for those cold winter days. I use three cans of diced tomatoes instead of 2 cans of diced and one can of whole tomatoes because I thought the whole tomatoes were too big. I also use 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons of chili powder instead of 3 because my family doesn't like super spicy foods. I think it is better if it cooks longer than 30 minutes to get it thoroughly heated through and let the flavors mix. Top with cheese and crushed tortilla chips. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I enjoyed it, my husband enjoyed it, even a friend of mine that doesn't like tomatoes or sour cream enjoyed it. She asked for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I was first drawn to this recipe because I had never used tomato soup (besides on its own) or salsa in a soup and I wanted to try it. I made a couple changes though, to save time I cubed the raw chicken and cooked it in the olive oil on a pan with the onions and crushed garlic, then let the chicken cool before pulling with my hands. Then I poured the medium chunky salsa and tomatoes (i used rotel tomatoes and chilies instead) in a pot with the tomato soup but only used 1 and a half cups of water, I figured I would add water as I went (didn't need anymore because of the liquid in the tomatoes). I added 3 bay leaves, dried parsley, onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder (i didn't need any salt because chili powder is salty) and I put in a couple tablespoons of chicken Better Than Bullion instead of the cubes, much easier and tastier I think. I decided I wanted it thick so I put in almost the whole container of SC and also added a half teaspoon of corn starch mixed with a tablespoon of water. Then I put in about half a cup of raw rice. It wasn't spicy so I added about 10 drops of green Tabasco and a drop or two of franks red hot (i would have used Sriracha but I was out), and some extra pepper. Also instead of chili beans I used one jar of kidney and one of black beans rinsed. I added cumin too for an extra kick and some adobo. It came out awesome! Basically a white chicken chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My family loves this soup and it is requested several times a year, especially during cold winter months. I only make a couple of slight changes, just for my own personal preference (I use rotel and tomato sauce instead of the whole and diced tomatoes). And I usually just bake a whole, small chicken and pull the meat off instead of the chicken breasts. Very good, hearty soup! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States