Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I was first drawn to this recipe because I had never used tomato soup (besides on its own) or salsa in a soup and I wanted to try it. I made a couple changes though, to save time I cubed the raw chicken and cooked it in the olive oil on a pan with the onions and crushed garlic, then let the chicken cool before pulling with my hands. Then I poured the medium chunky salsa and tomatoes (i used rotel tomatoes and chilies instead) in a pot with the tomato soup but only used 1 and a half cups of water, I figured I would add water as I went (didn't need anymore because of the liquid in the tomatoes). I added 3 bay leaves, dried parsley, onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder (i didn't need any salt because chili powder is salty) and I put in a couple tablespoons of chicken Better Than Bullion instead of the cubes, much easier and tastier I think. I decided I wanted it thick so I put in almost the whole container of SC and also added a half teaspoon of corn starch mixed with a tablespoon of water. Then I put in about half a cup of raw rice. It wasn't spicy so I added about 10 drops of green Tabasco and a drop or two of franks red hot (i would have used Sriracha but I was out), and some extra pepper. Also instead of chili beans I used one jar of kidney and one of black beans rinsed. I added cumin too for an extra kick and some adobo. It came out awesome! Basically a white chicken chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My family loves this soup and it is requested several times a year, especially during cold winter months. I only make a couple of slight changes, just for my own personal preference (I use rotel and tomato sauce instead of the whole and diced tomatoes). And I usually just bake a whole, small chicken and pull the meat off instead of the chicken breasts. Very good, hearty soup! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Can I please say that this is the most amazing 'meal' recipe I have found on Allrecipes? I love it, love it. I'm excited when I find a leftover batch in the freezer. Oh my goodness. It has earned a permanent place in my go-to meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great recipe. I made it with ingredients that I had on hand and had to make two substitutions. Tomato sauce for the condensed soup and black beans for chili beans. I had medium salsa on hand and it turned out to be the perfect amount of spice for us. Excellent! It makes a lot of soup, enough for many meals for the two of us. Instead of freezing extra portions like I usually do, I took it to work to share with my staff. They all liked it a much as my husband and I did. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this soup! I've made it about a dozen times. Now that I'm a spicy chicken veteran, I've figured out a few changes that really make the recipe POP! I substitute black beans for chili beans, add some cilantro and squeeze in the juice of a half a lime. I use rotisserie chicken from the store to save time. And to save calories, I garnish with plain greek yogurt, instead of sour cream. I also add a few dashes of hot sauce, to ensure this "spicy" soup stands up to its name. It's a rare rainy day in LA - so I'm planning to make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Good & spicy...it makes a lot of soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
So easy to make and taste absolutely great!! I used tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes and it turned out wonderfully. This recipe is definitely a keeper; my kids even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I made this super easy on myself and just threw everything into a crockpot in the morning. The chicken breasts were frozen, but they cooked just perfect in the juices all day. I just took out the chicken after it was done and shredded it up... sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
We loved this. My husband and I like things with flavor! This was so yummy. You can make it as spicy as you want!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Great!!!!! This soup had so much flavor. I omitted the chili (because I didn't have any), and added potatoes (boiled) to it. I cut the potatoes into small cubes. Reaaaallly delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States