Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My family loves this soup and it is requested several times a year, especially during cold winter months. I only make a couple of slight changes, just for my own personal preference (I use rotel and tomato sauce instead of the whole and diced tomatoes). And I usually just bake a whole, small chicken and pull the meat off instead of the chicken breasts. Very good, hearty soup! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Can I please say that this is the most amazing 'meal' recipe I have found on Allrecipes? I love it, love it. I'm excited when I find a leftover batch in the freezer. Oh my goodness. It has earned a permanent place in my go-to meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great recipe. I made it with ingredients that I had on hand and had to make two substitutions. Tomato sauce for the condensed soup and black beans for chili beans. I had medium salsa on hand and it turned out to be the perfect amount of spice for us. Excellent! It makes a lot of soup, enough for many meals for the two of us. Instead of freezing extra portions like I usually do, I took it to work to share with my staff. They all liked it a much as my husband and I did. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this soup! I've made it about a dozen times. Now that I'm a spicy chicken veteran, I've figured out a few changes that really make the recipe POP! I substitute black beans for chili beans, add some cilantro and squeeze in the juice of a half a lime. I use rotisserie chicken from the store to save time. And to save calories, I garnish with plain greek yogurt, instead of sour cream. I also add a few dashes of hot sauce, to ensure this "spicy" soup stands up to its name. It's a rare rainy day in LA - so I'm planning to make it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Good & spicy...it makes a lot of soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
So easy to make and taste absolutely great!! I used tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes and it turned out wonderfully. This recipe is definitely a keeper; my kids even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I made this super easy on myself and just threw everything into a crockpot in the morning. The chicken breasts were frozen, but they cooked just perfect in the juices all day. I just took out the chicken after it was done and shredded it up... sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
We loved this. My husband and I like things with flavor! This was so yummy. You can make it as spicy as you want!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Great!!!!! This soup had so much flavor. I omitted the chili (because I didn't have any), and added potatoes (boiled) to it. I cut the potatoes into small cubes. Reaaaallly delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great option to make instead of your standard ground beef chili or traditional chicken chili. This is a versatile recipe. I didn't have any canned tomatoes or tomato soup, so I used low-sodium V8 and added some extra corn and beans to make up for the texture. It turned out very tasty. The shredded chicken gives the soup a great consistency. I would consider it a Southwest type of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clubby981

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States