Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Was very excited to try this recipe as a base and change to suit our tastebuds...Did not add whole tomatoes or tomato soup as I felt it would overpower the taste of the soup. I did however want to bulk up the soup. I added 2 carrots, half a punnet of white mushrooms and 3 potatoes. Did not have parsley so I used sage instead. Hubby does not like bean so hence could not add those. The recipe did not state whether the salsa should be hot or not so I opted for hot and used 1.5 tablespoons of chili powder and 1 tablespoon of masala. O and we love having the bones so i used a braai pack instead. Personally I think that using the bones added to the flavor when boiling. I loved the way the reserved juices cut the tartness of the salsa to bring a perfect blend of tart and spicy and added depth to the flavor base. I added tons of Cilantro and bought Greek Yogurt to top but the smell was so inviting that we forgot to add it. Will maybe try it tonight with the leftovers. Will definitely do this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
My husband and I love this soup. The only thing I don't add is the can of tomato soup. It's great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Great soup! I use chicken pieces from a cooked rotisserie chicken and this works out just fine. I also add a little sugar to perk up the taste a bit and omit the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Perfect what an awesome meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have made this soup several times with no variations however tonight since my boyfriend and I are both sick it I made it again this time don't have any chilli beans in the house. I used dried rosemary, and few other spices added to the soup. I have read most of the complaints when it comes to being too salty add a little vinegar this will take away some of the salt. My boyfriend loves this soup its so simple to make I just throw everything in a crock-pot or on the stove top in a big pot to simmer for about 2 to 4 hour's. Even my boyfriend made this last month he was impressed by the simple recipe and he says he can't cook. We keep everything in stock for soups in the house. Can smell it already but will wait till he gets home from work. I'm half Italian so most of the time I use my grandma's recipes for soup's this one is close to her's just different. Love this soup one day when I have time I will post some of my grandma's recipes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Mmmm!! My boyfriend and I loved this!! I just threw everything in my slow cooker and added a few more chili flakes. It smelled amazing and tasted even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
We love this recipe. Not really spicy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
awesome this was so good, wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This was an amazing recipe. I followed the instructions to the letter and the soup was very tasteful and satisfying. The whole family enjoyed it. We will make it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
A friend made this soup for me, I had to have the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,477) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States