Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
It is fairly bland and has WAY too much chicken. And coming from someone who likes a meaty soup, that is saying a lot. I had to add a little extra salt, an extra table spoon of chili powder, a teaspoon of cayenne pepper, and two roasted red peppers. I could have easily halved the amount of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Beatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
It was bland. The chicken didn't absorb the flavors of the rest of the soup. In all fairness when the entire contents of the soup is consumed in one spoon-filled bite, the taste is tolerable (especially considering what little went in to it). Otherwise, there was nothing special about this soup to justify purchasing the ingrediants. Well that's not entirely correct. If you're low on funds and want to make a food which fills quickly and produces lots of re-heatable meals, I'd suggest whipping this up for yourself to fight back starvation. If you want to savour a delicious, interesting, well-harmonized soup that's meant to be enjoyed...I'd suggest you seek elsewhere. So I guess this soup does have its purposes and worth. I can't imagine what would make this soup taste better. Cilantro? Lime zest? I just don't know. Regardless, it is edible and overall cheap to make, and produces a good amount of leftovers. Do with it as you please, for I'm probably not going to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
this recipe was fantastic and made a large quantity for our big family. we typed it with shredded cheddar cheese.I will definitely make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nutt Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
A lot of ingredients for just a so so soup. I had to add Cumin and Oregano for more Mexican spice. 2 cans of diced tomatoes is plenty. Could to use all the broth. Pan not big enough and it would've been too soupy for my taste. Hoping its better the second day. I chose to use the sour cream on top of each individual bowl and crunch some tortilla chips on top. Also added some chopped jalapeño to onion mixture. Used 2 tbs. chili pwd. Originally this was just a chicken chili. Guess I was looking more for a tortilla soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Great recipe. It was delish. I added black beans to mine. I was even able use the leftover chicken stock to make a chicken noodle soup as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is an excellent recipes with lots of flexibility! I cooked it in my pressure cooker and it came out perfect. Like others already mentioned, I used frozen corn instead of canned corn. I also added some more chili beans since we really like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delicious on a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
We enjoyed this soup but thought that it was overall too tomato-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I changed this recipe a bit due to what I could find at the store and dietary restrictions. I halved the recipe. For half the recipe, I used one medium can of tomato sauce without salt and one medium can of diced tomatoes instead of the diced, whole and souped tomatoes. I also used frozen corn and guessed on the amount and used a can of black beans rather than chili beans. I also skipped the parsley as I don't have any and omitted the sour cream. Served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was such an incredible recipe- EVERYONE asked for the recipe. I used black beans instead of chili beans. Even half the recipe served more than 6 people. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States