Catherine's Sirloin Tip Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I tried Anyelea's version..bad outcome for me. My veggies didn't cook enough, but the meat did. Thank goodness for the microwave. Temps might need adjusting on that version. I won't do the one pot thing again. Next time I'll cook the veggies separately, using a little of the drippings for flavor. The meat flavor was wonderful, but basically wasted a lot of money and time on this dinner. But that's cooking sometimes! My husband was very gracious though and ate the whole plate. Bless him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Very good with the garlic inside the roast, I overcooked mine by accident, but it was still delicous! I used Montreal Steak spice instead of pepper, yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This has a really good flavor for sandwiches. I wanted to add some liquid as one reviewer mentioned. Had no beef broth, so I dissolved 1 bouillon cube in 1 cup water and added to pan. I'm so glad I did. This made a delicious juice to drizzle over the meat. Please note: When you cover with foil at the end, your roast will continue to cook. Mine overcooked, and it had registered rare on the thermometer before it sat covered with foil. Next time, I'll keep this in mind and undercook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Used a little extra garlic and pepper, and added a small, sliced onion and chopped potatos to the pan. Then covered in foil and roasted on the grill, over indirect heat. Added about a cup of water to the pan and found that unnecessary. Overall, good flavor, but next time I would add some herbs like rosemary, thyme and marojam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Excellent but the directions for cooking this will leave you willleave you with a well-done, dry roast. I used a 7-Bone Chuck Roast and pulled it out when it read 120 on the therometer and let it rests for 15 minutes before carving. Much more tender and the garlic doesn't burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Sticking sliced garlic in slits of the roast was a favorite method of my grandmother. In addition, though, she would add lots of garlic powder and approx a cup of beef broth in the bottom of the roasting pan. It made for a wonderfully moist, tender and flavorful roast. I followed this recipe to the letter without my grandmother's touches and have to say that I got a less flavorful and dry roast. This could have been due to my particular cut of sirloin, freshness, etc. Thank you for sharing your mom's method with us, Kate. I'm going to try this on a bottom round next time. They tend to me juicier and more flavorful than a sirloin tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very good. I put it in at 350, and for it's last 1/2 hour increased it to 375. It took about 90 minutes to get to 160, which was a bit too well done for us. Next time, I'll set it to turn off at 155, and let it keep cooking as it rests on the counter. I did marinate it with Worcestshire sauce as others suggested. Slices of garlic were a good touch. I'd make this again. It wasn't outstanding, and it produced little in the way of pan drippings, fyi. Good, solid recipe; I wasn't sure what to do with this meat I'd had in the freezer. After all this, my husband still slathered it in Heinz 57. Aaaaargh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This roast turned out very nicely. I used a little more garlic than called for because it sounded good. I skipped the part about cooking at 400, I just cooked the whole thing at the lower temp and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
The problem with sirloin tip is that it's wildly unpredictable. One sirloin tip can be tender while the next can be as tough as shoe leather. This recipe would work well with a tender roast, but not with a tough one. I found it was also rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and cooked the roast to 160 degrees for medium. It was the toughest piece of meat I have ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States