Catherine's Pickled Blueberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Made this recipe as written (other than,... I didn't realize I needed 8 cups so 4 were fresh berries and 4 were frozen that we picked 2 weeks ago) and it was wonderful. Not to mention super easy. Helpful hints: 2 quarts worked out to 8 cups of berries. If you fill the jars to the top of the jars, you will get 3 250ml jars (or 3 cups). I filled 2/3 of the way and filled the rest with the juice and ended up with 4 250ml jars (or 4 cups). Wanted to make again, but my husband forgot to bring home the berries that were on sale this week and the sale ended today! Thanks for such a different idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was extremely delicious. I changed some steps around since I wasn't canning it and I'm lazy. The steps I skipped turned out to be the ones that make it gel up, so I have a sauce rather than a chutney. The specific step to NOT skip is the one where you remove the berries and then boil the sauce for 4 minutes. I'm guessing since I left the berries in it for that step, I caused extra liquid to be released. This was still a very delicious appetizer served over cream cheese! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This was delicious with cheese. Looking forward to serving it with 5-hour roasted duck, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorem Ipsum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I am not a fan of pickled things; however, this was presented to me as a chutney so that I would try it! The trick worked. Very flavorful and great with cheese and crackers. I think it would also work well with grilled meats and seafood. Caution: this will stain your clothes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Wow. What a treat! The tangy berries pair perfectly with goat cheese. Bet they would be wonderful with roasted duck too... Thanks foodelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blancdeblanc
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I just finished making a quarter batch of this recipe (I am not a canner), and all I can say is that I will now spend this day looking for new ways to delight in this very yummy recipe! I am not a huge lover of the spices used in this delicacy, but is this ever tasty! I'm glad I bought the bigger size of chevre yesterday! *****+!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
What fuels MrB's fire on the days SunnyB ain't so cute? Pure sorcery and pickled blueberries, that's what. Thanks for the recipe - you rock. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
WOW!! I was intrigued by this recipe...much to the dismay of my family. They all thought it sounded bizarre. We sampled it over goat cheese last night and LOVED it!! Today we tried it over brie. Even better!! I am making another batch to be sure I have enough for us to eat regularly and perhaps have some available for gifts during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I found this more like a light chutney than something "pickled", but it is so good! I used it with chevre, like suggested, and people gobbled it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Delicious!! I sell blueberries and blueberry products at the local farmers market and was looking for new ideas for what to do with the berries when I happened across this one. It's a hit, not only at the market but at home as well. This recipe has definitely made it to the recipe book. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Blueberries

See how to make sweet, tangy pickled blueberries.

Nana's Southern Pickled Peaches

Try these unique and tasty pickled peaches.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States