Catherine's Pickled Blueberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Two different outcomes, depending on whether you can or not. If you don't, you will have a thicker, more syrupy sauce, similar to a chutney. If you can it, it will be watery, hence the pickled blueberries title. Will try it both ways to see which I prefer. (My guess is not canned.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this last year, and have been milking the jars until now, when I can make more! My favorite use is a nice big salad with the blueberries and other veggies with some chevre and a burger on top. It sounds like most reviewers think it should be jelly-like. Mine came out as mostly full berries with a slightly syrupy liquid. I love that--the liquid serves as salad dressing for my aforementioned favorite dinner. It may sound weird to some, but I encourage everyone to try this recipe--it's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hardwick, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Love Love Love this. Easy to make and wonderful. Can't wait to give them as Christmas Presents
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I ran across this recipe looking for a regular blueberry jam recipe. After looking at the ingredients I thought it sounded horrible. After reading the reviews I was very curious. I went exactly by the instructions and I fell in love with it. After the first week I had already eaten over half of what I had canned so I went back to the farmers market and just finished a double batch this morning. I'm taking the leftover juice and making a jam out of it right now. It will make a great bagel spread. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
These are great. I concur- they are wonderful with goat cheese. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I was a little turned off by the name...but I read through these reviews and they sold me. And I'm glad they did! I don't know why I bothered to can any of it since I just want to eat it all now! This is delicious delicious delicious. It would be fantastic on cheesecake, cream cheese, chevre, roasted fowl...I only made a half batch...but I will definitely be making this again. Easy, Delicious, and a great use of extra blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Delicious with meats and bean recipes too! This is extremely close to our traditional family recipe, although we use ground spices instead. Each batch is always a different consistency depending on the amount of moisture in the berries, so cook down as needed. We cook it berries and all in one big stockpot and once syrupy, stir and ladle it into the waiting jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious. We especially like this on top of bread and goat cheese. Quite unique, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Amazing over cream cheese, brie or goat cheese with triscuits. I'm sure I'll find other ways to use it, too, since I love it SO much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was amazing! I had a little leftover after canning and I mixed it into some plain yogurt. It was the best yogurt I've ever had. I definitely need to make another and bigger batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Blueberries

See how to make sweet, tangy pickled blueberries.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States