Catherine's Pickled Blueberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was amazing! I had a little leftover after canning and I mixed it into some plain yogurt. It was the best yogurt I've ever had. I definitely need to make another and bigger batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Just had to come back and add that we served this after my brother's funeral a couple months ago and before the server knew I was the one who'd brought it, she told me I HAD to try the blueberries - lol - and she said she normally doesn;t like blueberries - Highly recommend! Going to make some for a Holiday party again even though blueberries aren't in season, but my jars have all disappeared! :) ----Delicious - but I would really like there to be more information on how far to fill the jars before adding the syrup - I had A LOT of syrup left over and doubling the recipe, I got only 3 half pints and 4 4 oz jars (to give away), so the equivalent basically of 5 half pints on a double recipe. So I added a little more sugar to the rest of the syrup and still had 2 full pints of syrup - maybe my berries were just too late season? or not as fresh as they should have been? I am sealing one jar of syrup and just refirgerating the other for pancakes, flapjacks etc. It's quite yummy just as a syrup too! (or maybe a stuffed french toast?! :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kashmirkat
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I made this as written only doubled - FANTASTIC! I would give it more stars if I could. For canning, I doubled the recipe and got 14 half pints. The syrup thickened up just fine in the fridge but turned into purely watery liquid after canning - did not thicken at all! Next time I will add a pouch of liquid pectin and make into jam after they stand for the required 8-12 hours. These will make great gifts with some local Goat cheese. The watery canned pints were mixed thoroughly with cream cheese and served that way. People loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Delicious!! I sell blueberries and blueberry products at the local farmers market and was looking for new ideas for what to do with the berries when I happened across this one. It's a hit, not only at the market but at home as well. This recipe has definitely made it to the recipe book. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I'm still in the canning phase but just how it tasted when I put in the jars I'm sure this is going to be AWESOME! Question - how much should the syrup fill up the jars? I would think that it would need to be filled right to the top of the blueberries but I ran out before I could do that for all of my jars. What I might have done wrong: I might have cooked the sauce too long and lost some there (I was having trouble sorting out when it was thick enough to be "thickened"). For step 2 and on - I couldn't get to the berries in 8-12 hours so I put them in the fridge and it ended up being about 36 hours. I used a lot of smaller jars instead of several big ones. Overall I'm sure it will still be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star Dust Mining Company

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Made this recipe as written (other than,... I didn't realize I needed 8 cups so 4 were fresh berries and 4 were frozen that we picked 2 weeks ago) and it was wonderful. Not to mention super easy. Helpful hints: 2 quarts worked out to 8 cups of berries. If you fill the jars to the top of the jars, you will get 3 250ml jars (or 3 cups). I filled 2/3 of the way and filled the rest with the juice and ended up with 4 250ml jars (or 4 cups). Wanted to make again, but my husband forgot to bring home the berries that were on sale this week and the sale ended today! Thanks for such a different idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
WOW!! I was intrigued by this recipe...much to the dismay of my family. They all thought it sounded bizarre. We sampled it over goat cheese last night and LOVED it!! Today we tried it over brie. Even better!! I am making another batch to be sure I have enough for us to eat regularly and perhaps have some available for gifts during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGBrown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was extremely delicious. I changed some steps around since I wasn't canning it and I'm lazy. The steps I skipped turned out to be the ones that make it gel up, so I have a sauce rather than a chutney. The specific step to NOT skip is the one where you remove the berries and then boil the sauce for 4 minutes. I'm guessing since I left the berries in it for that step, I caused extra liquid to be released. This was still a very delicious appetizer served over cream cheese! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I found this more like a light chutney than something "pickled", but it is so good! I used it with chevre, like suggested, and people gobbled it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I just finished making a quarter batch of this recipe (I am not a canner), and all I can say is that I will now spend this day looking for new ways to delight in this very yummy recipe! I am not a huge lover of the spices used in this delicacy, but is this ever tasty! I'm glad I bought the bigger size of chevre yesterday! *****+!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Blueberries

See how to make sweet, tangy pickled blueberries.

Nana's Southern Pickled Peaches

Try these unique and tasty pickled peaches.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States