Catherine's Pickled Blueberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly for the first time. I followed the timing, but found the sauce rather thin. Next time, I will probably boil the sauce longer to thicken it more, since I wasn't sure how thick it was supposed to be. The flavor was very good, but my family, who usually like this sort of thing, said that I didn't necessarily need to make it again. I think I will try it again, but may add some sort of spicy element and will thicken it a bit more so it isn't as runny. Cooking times always vary a bit, and now I know what to aim for. Thanks for a very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Two different outcomes, depending on whether you can or not. If you don't, you will have a thicker, more syrupy sauce, similar to a chutney. If you can it, it will be watery, hence the pickled blueberries title. Will try it both ways to see which I prefer. (My guess is not canned.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I made this last year, and have been milking the jars until now, when I can make more! My favorite use is a nice big salad with the blueberries and other veggies with some chevre and a burger on top. It sounds like most reviewers think it should be jelly-like. Mine came out as mostly full berries with a slightly syrupy liquid. I love that--the liquid serves as salad dressing for my aforementioned favorite dinner. It may sound weird to some, but I encourage everyone to try this recipe--it's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Hardwick, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Love Love Love this. Easy to make and wonderful. Can't wait to give them as Christmas Presents
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I ran across this recipe looking for a regular blueberry jam recipe. After looking at the ingredients I thought it sounded horrible. After reading the reviews I was very curious. I went exactly by the instructions and I fell in love with it. After the first week I had already eaten over half of what I had canned so I went back to the farmers market and just finished a double batch this morning. I'm taking the leftover juice and making a jam out of it right now. It will make a great bagel spread. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
These are great. I concur- they are wonderful with goat cheese. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I was a little turned off by the name...but I read through these reviews and they sold me. And I'm glad they did! I don't know why I bothered to can any of it since I just want to eat it all now! This is delicious delicious delicious. It would be fantastic on cheesecake, cream cheese, chevre, roasted fowl...I only made a half batch...but I will definitely be making this again. Easy, Delicious, and a great use of extra blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Delicious with meats and bean recipes too! This is extremely close to our traditional family recipe, although we use ground spices instead. Each batch is always a different consistency depending on the amount of moisture in the berries, so cook down as needed. We cook it berries and all in one big stockpot and once syrupy, stir and ladle it into the waiting jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious. We especially like this on top of bread and goat cheese. Quite unique, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Amazing over cream cheese, brie or goat cheese with triscuits. I'm sure I'll find other ways to use it, too, since I love it SO much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Walton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pickled Blueberries

See how to make sweet, tangy pickled blueberries.

Nana's Southern Pickled Peaches

Try these unique and tasty pickled peaches.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States