Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
We were looking for a recipe to get rid of some of the okra my wife bought at a farmer's market. This turned out better than expected. Now we have a reason to buy more okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I made this recipe easier by buying frozen Gumbo vegetables that had celery,onions,corn and okra-a nice short cut- tasted great- I also used catfish nuggets and cut them even smaller to cut down on all the slicing and dicing! Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I thought this was EXCELLENT! I love okra, so I increased the okra and decreased the celery and green pepper slightly. Very good!!! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This was easy and very tasty!I added some pre-boiled peeled shrimp to it for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
I used catfish nuggets; they are often on sale! I added shrimp and turkey sausage to boost the protein. My family loves it!!! I didn't have the "cubes" so I used canned chicken broth & canned diced tomatoes with seasoning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This was delicious. My husband and kids loved it too and there were no leftovers. Since I had no red pepper flakes or hot pepper sauce, I used a bit of ground cayenne pepper and cajun spice mix instead. It was not spicy (which made my kids happy) but flavorful. A nice healthy alternative to fried catfish. We will definitely make this again and again. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Easy! Inexpensive! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Yum! I didnt have celery so I just added more green pepper. Also, added more red pepper and some tobasco. Delish! I usually like the sauce to be thicker but didnt want to ruin an already delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Very tastey with lump crab meat and shrimp. I also added corn and mushrooms. Has been added as a quick dish for anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I REALLY like this recipe. I chose catfish nuggets because they are tons cheaper here. The only thing is, you have to go through them and check for bones. It's not a big deal because I figured that I would have to cut them anyway. The nuggets come cut in little squares and they are fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States