Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Everything looked and smelled soooo good until I put the catfish in. I just wasn't sure about "boiled" fish. I served it up and my kids wouldn't touch it even after convincing them that this is the same fish I fry w/ french fries. My husband and I tried it, and both agreed that shrimp would've been far better. We picked around the catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I held back on the tabasco sauce while cooking this one for the kids' sake and put it out on the table instead for the adults. I was still skeptical about my kids eating this one but they all liked it and the 2-year-old LOVED it. This is a great recipe. We will definitely have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
We were looking for a recipe to get rid of some of the okra my wife bought at a farmer's market. This turned out better than expected. Now we have a reason to buy more okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Yum! A great new way to cook catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
My husband loves it and he's fish unfriendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Yum. Even my picky, picky soup-hatin' son liked it. It's not so much a gumbo, though, as it has no roux. But oh-so-much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I REALLY like this recipe. I chose catfish nuggets because they are tons cheaper here. The only thing is, you have to go through them and check for bones. It's not a big deal because I figured that I would have to cut them anyway. The nuggets come cut in little squares and they are fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is a great recipe. I didn't add the salt instead I added Ms. Dash and I only used 1 can of diced tomatoes. It was perfect and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I made this recipe easier by buying frozen Gumbo vegetables that had celery,onions,corn and okra-a nice short cut- tasted great- I also used catfish nuggets and cut them even smaller to cut down on all the slicing and dicing! Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This actually turned out better than I expected. Here's what I did: Sauteed veggies in oil, then added a bit of flour and cooked until it was starting to brown. Then I added the broth (which I had premixed). I didn't add okra, but used some carrots and yellow squash instead. I also added dried basil. And finally, I threw in about a quarter cup of rice with the catfish. It is delicious and the perfect consistency. I don't know how it would thicken up if no flour was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States