Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Everything looked and smelled soooo good until I put the catfish in. I just wasn't sure about "boiled" fish. I served it up and my kids wouldn't touch it even after convincing them that this is the same fish I fry w/ french fries. My husband and I tried it, and both agreed that shrimp would've been far better. We picked around the catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I held back on the tabasco sauce while cooking this one for the kids' sake and put it out on the table instead for the adults. I was still skeptical about my kids eating this one but they all liked it and the 2-year-old LOVED it. This is a great recipe. We will definitely have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
We were looking for a recipe to get rid of some of the okra my wife bought at a farmer's market. This turned out better than expected. Now we have a reason to buy more okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Yum! A great new way to cook catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
My husband loves it and he's fish unfriendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Yum. Even my picky, picky soup-hatin' son liked it. It's not so much a gumbo, though, as it has no roux. But oh-so-much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I REALLY like this recipe. I chose catfish nuggets because they are tons cheaper here. The only thing is, you have to go through them and check for bones. It's not a big deal because I figured that I would have to cut them anyway. The nuggets come cut in little squares and they are fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This is a great recipe. I didn't add the salt instead I added Ms. Dash and I only used 1 can of diced tomatoes. It was perfect and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I made this recipe easier by buying frozen Gumbo vegetables that had celery,onions,corn and okra-a nice short cut- tasted great- I also used catfish nuggets and cut them even smaller to cut down on all the slicing and dicing! Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This actually turned out better than I expected. Here's what I did: Sauteed veggies in oil, then added a bit of flour and cooked until it was starting to brown. Then I added the broth (which I had premixed). I didn't add okra, but used some carrots and yellow squash instead. I also added dried basil. And finally, I threw in about a quarter cup of rice with the catfish. It is delicious and the perfect consistency. I don't know how it would thicken up if no flour was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States