Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Yum! A great new way to cook catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
My husband loves it and he's fish unfriendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I held back on the tabasco sauce while cooking this one for the kids' sake and put it out on the table instead for the adults. I was still skeptical about my kids eating this one but they all liked it and the 2-year-old LOVED it. This is a great recipe. We will definitely have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
We were looking for a recipe to get rid of some of the okra my wife bought at a farmer's market. This turned out better than expected. Now we have a reason to buy more okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I made this recipe easier by buying frozen Gumbo vegetables that had celery,onions,corn and okra-a nice short cut- tasted great- I also used catfish nuggets and cut them even smaller to cut down on all the slicing and dicing! Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
I thought this was EXCELLENT! I love okra, so I increased the okra and decreased the celery and green pepper slightly. Very good!!! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This was easy and very tasty!I added some pre-boiled peeled shrimp to it for a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
very good recipe! used striper instead of catfish, but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
I used catfish nuggets; they are often on sale! I added shrimp and turkey sausage to boost the protein. My family loves it!!! I didn't have the "cubes" so I used canned chicken broth & canned diced tomatoes with seasoning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This was delicious. My husband and kids loved it too and there were no leftovers. Since I had no red pepper flakes or hot pepper sauce, I used a bit of ground cayenne pepper and cajun spice mix instead. It was not spicy (which made my kids happy) but flavorful. A nice healthy alternative to fried catfish. We will definitely make this again and again. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States