Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Really liked this recipe. Not a true gumbo but who cares; the taste was good. Next time I am going to try to make a rue first and also add shrimp and crawfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This recipe is absolutely delicious! For those who are like me and are addicted to hot food : I added 4 Thai chilies sliced in half and half of a jalapeno for some fire! I also added 2 Tbs of flour since this recipe didn't call for you to make a rue, otherwise it was pretty soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was great !! I used 1 lb of shrimp instead of the fish (per another viewers suggestion). I followed the recipe exactly, and I swear I saw my hisband licking the pot afterwards. This makes enough for 6 servings, but with only the 2 of us, there were NO leftovers !!! Great recipe, this will be a regular at our table !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This was OK. Not sure that I would make it again. Flavor is alright, but nothing incredible, and not sure I would call it "gumbo". I made this because I had all the ingredients on hand and was trying to experiment with catfish. I used beef broth, and I think you could be happy if you had more broth than what is called for here. I used a ton of Tabasco (how I roll) and it was decent, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is very tastee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marisa Rivera
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I never eat Gumbo before, so made one yesterday, looking at some recipes, it's great! Love the taste and spicyness :) I used anaheim chilli, no bell pepper. No okra either, I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned one. Love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Without the fish it smelled great, but the fish ruined everything. Disclaimer: I'm not a catfish fun; my husband is, but he didn't enjoy this either. If you're not a big catfish fun either, I would suggest chicken instead of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Wow....this was great! I had leeks on hand, so I used those rather than onion, and I also used tilapia rather than catfish. Needed to get rid of the excess, and I think this would work with just about any type of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I thought this recipe was a great basis for my own gumbo recipe; being a first time gumbo maker, I used it to inspire me to make my own. I was inspired! And it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Everything looked and smelled soooo good until I put the catfish in. I just wasn't sure about "boiled" fish. I served it up and my kids wouldn't touch it even after convincing them that this is the same fish I fry w/ french fries. My husband and I tried it, and both agreed that shrimp would've been far better. We picked around the catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States