Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Not the same without the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Great way to use frozen okra. The tomato in this cuts any sliminess the okra might have when thawed. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made this with 20 oz of shrimp instead of catfish. Very good, but need to reduce the salt a bit to 1/2 to 3/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was tha bomb!!! The only thing I did different was use half shrimp and half catfish because I had a taste for some shrimp that day. I also used 2 cups of beef broth instead of the bouillion and water combo. But man, this was good! It froze well too; I reheated a frozen bowl of soup about 3 weeks later and was amazed again at how tood this was. Tons of veggies, so you definitly get a serving or two of your daily requirement. Very flavorful and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sidepocket8ball
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made this for the wife and I two nights in a row! I did chnage the fish each night however. First night I used shark steaks, and the second, swordfish. It was really good. One more deviance, was the hot sauce. Fred's Red Hot instead. AND I will add, do not use 2 hot sauces- learned that lesson the second night. Was a little TOO adventurous. GREAT and EASY. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sidepocket8ball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Delicious and healthy! My version: didn't use green pepper (didn't have it on hand), didn't use garlic (forgot), used 3 fresh good size tomatoes instead of canned diced tomatoes, added carrots, put in oregano and added some salt; didn't use hot pepper sauce. I reduced simmering time by a few minutes because my family was hungry! It came out great! The catfish nuggets that I bought a while back and left in the deep freezer came out well and didn't have the fishy taste at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I used the exact recpie and it turned out great. I will cook it again. This is hard to beat and east to make. JIm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This was very good, yet fishy. We added some hot sauce and crumbled crackers in it and it was fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I found this recipe the best i have ever had so far Won't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
both husband and mother in law from biloxi MS loved this definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States