Catfish Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was wonderful! I used some frozen mackeral I had left from a fishing trip and frozen okra. It was much better than I expected! Will definitely make this again. Might use 3 cups of beef broth next time since I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
We had this tonight and my man and I both loved it. I had about 3/4 pound freshly caught catfish that I filleted. I almost followed the recipe but added to it a bit. I added one medium zucchini to the vegetables and omitted the okra. I used fresh tomatoes instead of the canned. I added 1/2 Cup brown rice to the bouillon just before the 30 minute simmer. I also added 3/4 pound salad shrimp because I had it. It was delicious and gluten free as a bonus. We will definitely have it again the next time we go cat fishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Tastes very good! It's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Yum, is right! Catfish is perfect in this recipe because of it's texture. We've decided to fix this once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCouple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is a terrific recipe! I have made it many times and it is always delicious.. I use around a pound of shrimp and a pound of whatever white flaky fish looks good. I recommend using fresh orca if you can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
a good simple tasty home food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
We had this with some wonderful rolls. Everyone loved it including our finicky 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Excellent recipe!! Like another reviewer I used beef stock which saved time. Also added chopped collard greens, salmon, shrimp, oysters, salmon and swai - couldn't find catfish but it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I pan fried my catfish pieces in some oil and creole seasoning, then added them to the soup in the end. This fixed the "boiled fish" problem and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
As written, I'd give it three stars. I've made this twice. The first time, I followed the recipe judiciously, and I found it a bit bland for my taste. The second time, I doubled the amount of bay leaves, red pepper flakes, and thyme. I cut the salt to 1/2 tspn. and added a tablespoon of Tony Chachere's Cajun seasoning. Also, I don't know where they sell diced tomatoes in 8oz. cans, so I, of course, substituted a 15-1/2 oz. can of fire roasted toms and was quite pleased with the outcome. I'll make it again using my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States