Catfish Etouffee Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dana
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Freaking fantastic! Accident bought cilantro instead of parsley, but went with it anyways. I'd also used sea salt but I'd do a teaspoon less than asked. I'd Lao pie with a sweeter white, like a sav blanc or a dry-ish Reiseling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I am a native Cajun, and I loved this. My husband however, was not a huge fan. I think that is because this does not taste like what you typically find in a half-par Cajun restaurant - it tastes authentic! I soaked the wild catfish in milk and salt-water....AWESOME IDEA! We used chicken broth instead of beef (because we didn't have it), and added some Tony's Roux mix. We also used canned tomatoe soup (with onion salt, olive oil, basil), and a red pepper instead of a green bell pepper. All in all, I liked it, but I will probably try to make this next time with some Cream of Mushroom soup and fresh tomatoes (as I read in another recipe for shrimp etoufee).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie Compton
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
this was a pretty good recipe however it was almost to fishy tasing for me, I also used zucchini instead of bellpepper. It was good but definetly room for improvement
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Compton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: White Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
We tried this with tilapia instead of catfish and with some shrimp added at the last few minutes of cooking time. I also soaked the tilapia in salt water and milk to reduce the fishy taste. It was pretty GOOD to us! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
excellent.. I used canned tomatoes and some fresh I had together along with chicken and shrimp that I had on hand instead of catfish. My husband adored it... great cold weather food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EIKNIP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this tonight. I made some slight changes, such as using stewed tomatoes. I did not drain them, so I ended up adding a cup of water and a beef bouillon cube while simmering. I made my own roux with bacon grease, which gave a good, smoky, slow cooked flavor. Used brown rice rather than white. Will definitely make this again. I did add about 3/4 t of the pepper flakes, and topped with chipotle tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Boilermaker Pete
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
The ingredient list for this recipe is very similar to a crawfish recipe in the Frugal Gourmet's American collection and it makes for a good comfort food that even my wife, who doesn't really care for most fish, really liked. Yat's restaurant in Indianapolis specializes in etouffee and other Creole dishes. This could have come right out of one of their kettles. Because I substituted canned tomato, juice and all, I thought it needed a little sugar and some cumin to mellow it out a bit. Recommend putting Tabasco green sauce on the table for those wanting to kick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
So easy! I've made twice with both Catfish and the second time with Shrimp/pre-cooked Sausage and it held up to both. My only substitions were to use canned diced tomatoes instead and for extra fiber, I added a can of red beans to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Very good... husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This recipe was pretty good. I soaked my home caught catfish in half milk half water like the previous rater suggested... it did take alot of the fishy flavor out. I wasnt sure how long to soak it.. i kind of forgot about it in the refridgerator so it ended up soaking for 24 hours. I used 2 cans of stewed tomatoes drained instead of chopped tomatoes.. i also added more onion and bell pepper... the recipe was kind of runny so next time i might add more rice and instead of 2 cups of beef broth just add 2 cubes of beef bullion, thanks for the recipe and i will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Chef John's Shrimp Etouffee

Discover the tricks to making amazing Creole shrimp with a flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States