Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This was absolutely EXCELLENT! It tastes professionally made. I added a little bit of bell pepper, a little bit of black pepper, a little extra miracle whip and mustard. I also added an extra egg. I did not have the old bay seasoning - so I substituted creole seasoning instead and it turned out GREAT. YUM YUM. Have fun cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Excellent. Better than most crabcakes I've had as appetizers in some fancy restaurants. Catfish nuggets were on sale this week at the gocery, and they work perfectly in this recipe instead of the filets. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Excellent!!!!!I added 1 1/2 tsp. Old bay though. Very moist. My husband's new favorite dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Yum! I am not a huge fan of catfish but these were great. I used 2 lbs of catfish and doubled all the ingredients except for the cracker crumbs (the double batch was holding together with just the 2.5 cups of crushed crackers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This is a very excellent recipe! You can change the spices to suit your taste! We will be making this for a long time to come. Every bit as good as crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
Bobbie, Thanks! I have thrown away so much "left-over" fish in the past....Never Again! I used the recipe as you wrote it EXCEPT that I had some fried Florida Bream that was cooked a couple nights prior. I took the skin and bones off and used the flaky white meat. The flavor was excellent. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
it was great loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB1LEEMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
we loved these, I added more spice (cajun) and instead of frying I used Pam, they were YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This is the best recipe I've ever found online. It's quick and easy, and even my daughter loved it. The recipe is also very versatile. I substituted mayo for the miracle whip and bread crumbs for half of the cracker crumbs. A new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
These were excellent. I used cajun seasoning instead of Old Bay, it pack more of a punch. As good as any crab cakes I have ever had. I served them with Remoulade. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACALK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States