Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I read so many reiews about these cakes I just had to try it. I prepared with 1 1/2 lbs. of catfish fillets and baked them in the oven 1st. Added my own special seasonings as if I were going to eat them that way. I cannot imagine boiling the fish with absolutely no seasonings-- it would have tasted bland for my taste. I used only half of a medium sized onion. I flaked most of the fish instead of mashing. I used 2 tbsp. of Hellmann's mayo which is my preference and lastly I used 1 1/2 cups of Keeblers crackers. This recipe is a keeper-- Absolutely delicious!!! The taste truly isn't that different from crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Having read the reviews, I decided to make these cakes for dinner last night. The only change I made was to dredge the cakes in flour before frying to give them a crispier crust. They were delicious! They make excellent sandwiches when on a bun with tartar sauce and crisp lettuce. I will certainly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Good recipe. I seasoned the fish with salt & pepper, and then cooked it in 1/2 white wine, 1/2 water and added a bay leaf. I used seasoned bread crumbs (as I didn't have cracker crumbs on hand)and used only 1/4 cup of oil (you don't need to drown these - just a little oil will make these browned & crispy). Next time I wouldn't mash the fish so much - I'd leave it kind of chunky, and maybe use slightly more fish (or less bread/cracker crumbs). I was surprised that my husband really liked these - and he even suggested that I should make some "mini" catfish cakes as an appetizer for our next party. You could certainly use tilapia, or any other white flaky fish for these (my mother has even made a similar version with canned tuna!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
The recipe was a hit! It was quick and easy and delicioius. I baked the fish (actually used white sole fillet) at 450 degrees for 10 minutes to retain the taste. Then flaked it and mixed in all the ingredients with it. I did coat the cakes with flour to make it more crispy. I would also add a little salt and pepper to give it more flavor. Otherwise, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
These were great! Baked the fish instead of boiling, to keep it from being soggy and losing flavor. Used about a sleeve and a hald of crackers and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
FABULOUS and soooo easy! I began heating the oil first and microwaved the fish 3-5 minutes(used cod). I eyeballed all the ingredients (1 1/2 sleeves of crackers) and by the time I mixed and made patties the oil was ready. This was on the table in no time. Made a sauce of mayo, lemon juice, and ground chipotle pepper. Mmmm so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, except substituted Orange Roughy for Catfish. I am a HORRIBLE cook, and these turned out amazingly well. I always find a way to mess up even the simplest recipe, so these are truly foolproof! My husband asks me to make these at least once a week now. I serve them with a big salad and it is a delicious dinner. I make the fish mixture in the morning (it only takes about 10 minutes) and put it in a Ziploc bag in the fridge, so the prep time is very quick in the evening. Thank you so much for sharing Bobbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I had to rate this recipe because it is hands down one of my faves. I use Keebler Onion flavored crackers instead of the plain buttery ones the recipe calls for. I just can't compliment this recipe enough! Delicious. So much better than crab cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Excellent. Better than most crabcakes I've had as appetizers in some fancy restaurants. Catfish nuggets were on sale this week at the gocery, and they work perfectly in this recipe instead of the filets. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I was watching the Foodnetwork today and Giada was eating crab cakes. My mouth was literally watering, but I didn't have any crab in the house and didn't feel like going out. I happened upon this recipe and I have to say it really hit the spot!!!! I used Hellmans rather than the sweet stuff and coated my cakes with Panko instead of the crackers. So good and thanks Bobbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States