Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Excellent. Better than most crabcakes I've had as appetizers in some fancy restaurants. Catfish nuggets were on sale this week at the gocery, and they work perfectly in this recipe instead of the filets. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Excellent!!!!!I added 1 1/2 tsp. Old bay though. Very moist. My husband's new favorite dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
Yum! I am not a huge fan of catfish but these were great. I used 2 lbs of catfish and doubled all the ingredients except for the cracker crumbs (the double batch was holding together with just the 2.5 cups of crushed crackers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This is a very excellent recipe! You can change the spices to suit your taste! We will be making this for a long time to come. Every bit as good as crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
Bobbie, Thanks! I have thrown away so much "left-over" fish in the past....Never Again! I used the recipe as you wrote it EXCEPT that I had some fried Florida Bream that was cooked a couple nights prior. I took the skin and bones off and used the flaky white meat. The flavor was excellent. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
it was great loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LB1LEEMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
we loved these, I added more spice (cajun) and instead of frying I used Pam, they were YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Having read the reviews, I decided to make these cakes for dinner last night. The only change I made was to dredge the cakes in flour before frying to give them a crispier crust. They were delicious! They make excellent sandwiches when on a bun with tartar sauce and crisp lettuce. I will certainly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, except substituted Orange Roughy for Catfish. I am a HORRIBLE cook, and these turned out amazingly well. I always find a way to mess up even the simplest recipe, so these are truly foolproof! My husband asks me to make these at least once a week now. I serve them with a big salad and it is a delicious dinner. I make the fish mixture in the morning (it only takes about 10 minutes) and put it in a Ziploc bag in the fridge, so the prep time is very quick in the evening. Thank you so much for sharing Bobbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
Very quick and easy. A sweet tasting fishcake. Next time I may substitute a stronger tasting fish, maybe salmon for the catfish. I didn't really taste the catfish. This will be a regular for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deafsetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Flavorful and scrumptious salmon cakes.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States