Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The recipe was great as written. No need to modify anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luling, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were very good. My whole family loved them. They were so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricketinwoods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
These are incredible! I used 4 lbs of catfish and primarily seasoned with Tony's rather than Old Bay. I also baked the catfish prior and used the juices from this in the batter. For the batter I used about 5 cups crackers and 2 cups Italian breadcrumbs. Total patties created: 25. Definitely a continual family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was simply amazing. So many great flavors. I used Ritz crackers, premarined cajun catfish. I lightly coated catfish in olive oil to keep from trying out, and baked catfish at 350 for about 30 minutes. Then followed the reciepe the rest of the way! For an extra treat make the white sauce from the Fish Tacos on this site!!! You could definetly half the amount of onion. I coated some cakes in flour and some normal...not a lot of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Gordon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I was about to throw out my remaining frozen catfish nuggets because anything I make is either soggy or really fishy tasting. So I thought I would give this recipe a try. Hoorah!!! My husband almost ate his plate and told me these were better than any crabcakes he's ever had. I added some garlic and about 1/2 parmesan cheese to the recipe. They fried up nicely and quickly and looked very appetizing. Super idea and recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were pretty tasty and very easy to make. I didn't have any Old Bay on hand, but I used salt, pepper, and fresh garlic. I also used stone ground mustard instead of the yellow stuff. I fried up a cake, and it was good, but I thought it needed a kick, so I diced one whole jalapeno and added it (seeds and all) to the mixture. This was absolutely delicious; it spiced things up and added a real depth of flavor. I will be making these again, but will probably try them with less onion and fewer crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Much better than I expected. As others recommended I chose to season (S&P, Old Bay, and garlic) bake the fillets in the oven first at 450 for 10 minutes then flaked. I also used course ground Dijon instead of the yellow mustard, substituted bread crumbs for the ritz and surface coated with a fine wheat flour to reduce oil permeation. Turned out great when shallow pan fried. A great basic recipe that you can tweak a million different ways to suit your own taste. Moist, flavorful and easy to make substitute for crab cakes that I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I really wanted to love these but they weren't as good as we were anticipating. This was not a bad recipe but it had a little too much of a bread taste for us. I'll definitely keep this but tweak it to better suit our taste. It needs a little something but I haven't been able to put my finger on what that is yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
What a nice change for a quick meal. I did parboil the fish and it kept it so moist, I liked that idea. I used non-fat mayo and Egg Beaters for the egg. I used Special-K tomato basil flavored crackers, only about 3/4 cup. It made the perfect patties. I put them in the freezer for about 20 minutes. I cooked them with Pam instead of the oil and once nice & brown put in a 350 oven that was baking the mac & cheese for about 10 minutes. Perfect! I'll make these again. I'm thinking you could use any kind of fish you like but I like the idea of fresh caught catfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
My husband and I loved this dish! I changed some things, based on what I had on hand. I baked the fish (as another reviewer suggested -- thanks!), lightly sprinkled with Cajun spices beforehand (to give it an extra kick), and then used Zatarain's seafood breadcrumbs in the mixture instead of crackers. Great alternative to crabcakes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States