Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These are so good...I used 1 Tbsp of miracle whip and 1 Tbsp of sour cream in the mix, also I added fresh italian parsley about 2 Tbsp and half panko and half ritz crackers. This recipe goes on the monthly chart not just for x-mas!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These were really good. I'm wheat sensitive so used Kellogg's Corn Flake Crumbs instead of crackers. Didn't have Old Bay Seasoning so used Chef Prudhomme's Seafood Magic. Other than that followed the recipe and they were crispy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cleer Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Pretty good flavor. I served it with a sweet chili garlic sauce and served it over a spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
great, I dont fry them, I just brown them on both sides in a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to adapt using spoonbill (paddlefish) and this is the recipe I used. The fish cakes turned out beautifully! I sauteed the spoonbill for a few minutes in a skillet until done and then shredded it to use in the fish cakes. My only complaint is that using an entire onion is overkill, IMO - they were VERY oniony - but with everything else they still were delicious. Luckily everyone I made dinner for loves onions! I'll definitely make these again (thanks to my F-I-L I have a freezer full of spoonbill). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Rush Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Great base recipe. I added more seasonings, sour cream instead of mayo, less onions, and less cracker crumbs. Also baked in oven as suggested by others. Delish with sauteed jalapenos on top. I'd suggest to finely dice the onions, unless you like big chunks that sometimes too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
These were really good. I kept calling them Crab Cakes because they tasted just like them. I had trouble keeping them from falling apart but they still tasted great. I didn't have Miracle Whip so I used Sour Cream instead and they tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The recipe was great as written. No need to modify anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luling, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were very good. My whole family loved them. They were so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricketinwoods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
These are incredible! I used 4 lbs of catfish and primarily seasoned with Tony's rather than Old Bay. I also baked the catfish prior and used the juices from this in the batter. For the batter I used about 5 cups crackers and 2 cups Italian breadcrumbs. Total patties created: 25. Definitely a continual family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States