Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
These were really good. I'm wheat sensitive so used Kellogg's Corn Flake Crumbs instead of crackers. Didn't have Old Bay Seasoning so used Chef Prudhomme's Seafood Magic. Other than that followed the recipe and they were crispy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cleer Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Pretty good flavor. I served it with a sweet chili garlic sauce and served it over a spinach salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
great, I dont fry them, I just brown them on both sides in a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to adapt using spoonbill (paddlefish) and this is the recipe I used. The fish cakes turned out beautifully! I sauteed the spoonbill for a few minutes in a skillet until done and then shredded it to use in the fish cakes. My only complaint is that using an entire onion is overkill, IMO - they were VERY oniony - but with everything else they still were delicious. Luckily everyone I made dinner for loves onions! I'll definitely make these again (thanks to my F-I-L I have a freezer full of spoonbill). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Rush Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Great base recipe. I added more seasonings, sour cream instead of mayo, less onions, and less cracker crumbs. Also baked in oven as suggested by others. Delish with sauteed jalapenos on top. I'd suggest to finely dice the onions, unless you like big chunks that sometimes too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
These were really good. I kept calling them Crab Cakes because they tasted just like them. I had trouble keeping them from falling apart but they still tasted great. I didn't have Miracle Whip so I used Sour Cream instead and they tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
The recipe was great as written. No need to modify anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luling, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were very good. My whole family loved them. They were so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricketinwoods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
These are incredible! I used 4 lbs of catfish and primarily seasoned with Tony's rather than Old Bay. I also baked the catfish prior and used the juices from this in the batter. For the batter I used about 5 cups crackers and 2 cups Italian breadcrumbs. Total patties created: 25. Definitely a continual family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was simply amazing. So many great flavors. I used Ritz crackers, premarined cajun catfish. I lightly coated catfish in olive oil to keep from trying out, and baked catfish at 350 for about 30 minutes. Then followed the reciepe the rest of the way! For an extra treat make the white sauce from the Fish Tacos on this site!!! You could definetly half the amount of onion. I coated some cakes in flour and some normal...not a lot of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States