Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Unbelieveable. Blindfolded you would probably think you were eating a crabcake! I used Club crackers, about 1 1/4 cups and maybe 1/4 cup breadcrumbs. All 3 kids ate it - will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MThoburn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Excellent! I doubled the recipe, and only had one sleeve of the buttery round crackers, so added saltines to make up for the remainder. The cakes came out beautiful, and the family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Though next time I would use more fish or fewer crackers (I used Ritz), these were delicious. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and coated them with flour before frying which gave an almost crunchy crust. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
My boyfriend loves catfish but is super picky about his food. I was bored with just baking the fish so I decided to try these out because he also love crab cakes. These were awesome and easy. I used regular mayo and dijonaise because I didnt have miracle whip or regular mustard. I also used a mix of bread crumbs and that corn meal fish fry stuff because, again, I didnt have the buttery crackers on hand. I also baked the fish instead of boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Quillen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Wow! With a few modifications this was amazing. First of all, I used tilapia as it was the only fish I had. I seasoned it with salt, pepper and Old Bay, then baked it at 425 for a few minutes until cooked through. For the mixture I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of powdered mustard, 1 teaspoon Old bay, 1/2 teaspoon of Emerald's Bayou Blast Seasoning, (any Cajun or Creole seasoning would have worked) a dash of Cayenne pepper, 2 tablespoons Hellman's light mayo, 1 1/2 cups crushed Ritz crackers, 1 beaten egg, and a dash of salt & pepper. Then I lightly coated the patties in flour and fried until golden brown. I drizzled the patties with Thousand Island and placed them between 2 pieces of untoasted honey wheat bread to make mock crabcake sandwiches. (A burger bun would have worked too). It was AMAZING. My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
OMG so delicious! My husband gets tired of fish so this was amazing! He requested it again this week! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I thought this recipe was really bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
OK, I guess. Seemed like there should have been less cracker crumbs or more fish. Very "bready". Good concept though, hence the 3 stars. I will try again, maybe just add enough crumbs to hold mixture together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Being from south Louisiana, I have a hard time boiling fish. I used Talapia well seasoned and then pan fried. Added jalapenas, tabasco and an extra egg. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
PHENOMENAL! I used 1.75 lbs of catfish based on other reviews that it needed more, and 1 cup seasoned bread crumbs, 1 cup Keebler Club crackers. So good Hubby said I NEED to make them again and my 16-month old son ate it too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Flavorful and scrumptious salmon cakes.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States