Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This recipe was delicious!!! (although I slightly modified it) I took other reviewers ideas of baking the fish first but instead of just salt and pepper I spiced it up with lemon juice, lemon pepper, garlic, cayenne and a seasoning salt. I crushed up the total amount of crackers but added til I like the consistency of the fish (about a cup and a half). So good!!! Will definitely be making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlynnbartels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
GREAT idea for catfish- I needed to find a recipe for catfish nuggets I had in freezer- this was perfect! Some of the reviews claimed it did not have enough flavor so I doubled the seasoning- added a tad more mayo and when I boiled the fish I used a bay leaf more cajun seasonings and garlic salt. I did not mash up the fish- I just mixed it in with other intredients- was wonderful! I paired it with creole rice recipe from here that was perfect! made no alterations to recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Yummy! I followed the others, I baked the fish for 10 mins, seasoned with salt and pepper. DH loved it! Definitely a keeper! Thanks Bobbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Unbelieveable. Blindfolded you would probably think you were eating a crabcake! I used Club crackers, about 1 1/4 cups and maybe 1/4 cup breadcrumbs. All 3 kids ate it - will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MThoburn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Excellent! I doubled the recipe, and only had one sleeve of the buttery round crackers, so added saltines to make up for the remainder. The cakes came out beautiful, and the family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Though next time I would use more fish or fewer crackers (I used Ritz), these were delicious. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and coated them with flour before frying which gave an almost crunchy crust. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
My boyfriend loves catfish but is super picky about his food. I was bored with just baking the fish so I decided to try these out because he also love crab cakes. These were awesome and easy. I used regular mayo and dijonaise because I didnt have miracle whip or regular mustard. I also used a mix of bread crumbs and that corn meal fish fry stuff because, again, I didnt have the buttery crackers on hand. I also baked the fish instead of boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Wow! With a few modifications this was amazing. First of all, I used tilapia as it was the only fish I had. I seasoned it with salt, pepper and Old Bay, then baked it at 425 for a few minutes until cooked through. For the mixture I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of powdered mustard, 1 teaspoon Old bay, 1/2 teaspoon of Emerald's Bayou Blast Seasoning, (any Cajun or Creole seasoning would have worked) a dash of Cayenne pepper, 2 tablespoons Hellman's light mayo, 1 1/2 cups crushed Ritz crackers, 1 beaten egg, and a dash of salt & pepper. Then I lightly coated the patties in flour and fried until golden brown. I drizzled the patties with Thousand Island and placed them between 2 pieces of untoasted honey wheat bread to make mock crabcake sandwiches. (A burger bun would have worked too). It was AMAZING. My boyfriend and I absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
OMG so delicious! My husband gets tired of fish so this was amazing! He requested it again this week! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I thought this recipe was really bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States