Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Just made this. I followed the recipe for the most part but did dredge in flour and bake in oven instead of boil. I didn't have the spice called for so I used some celery salt, crushed bay leaf, salt and pepper as well as some dill. Delish!! Super easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious! The only change I made to the recipe was to add more Old Bay Seasoning. My husband doesn't like crab cakes, but he really enjoyed these and asked me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I enjoyed the idea of these- a cheaper version of crab cakes. They had a great texture (I also coated with a little flour to make crisp) and they held together nicely. I would have preferred more seasonings- maybe some lemon, hot sauce, cayenne, etc. I think I will keep this in my recipe box but will try again with some stronger seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Very good and interesting recipe, and surporisingly easy to make! One criticism--I would greatly reduce the amount of onion, and definitely fry the onions in a pan first to tenderize them. Also, I slightly increased the amount of mustard and Old Bay, to give it a bit more zing. Excellent dinner, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
We used Basa in this recipe(Japanese catfish). My 2 yr. old & 4 year old ate more than we did! Delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
We love fish and crab cakes are one of our favorites, but this is BETTER! Like others have said I baked the fish with seasoning first. Then I used 1/4 cup egg beaters and planko bread crumbs instead of cracker. I also dipped them in the breadcrumbs and baked them instead of frying... much healthier! I sparayed a baking sheet with Pam, layed cakes on it and then sprayed the cakes With more Pam. Bake for about 30 minutes, turning over half way through. Delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I had these cakes with a mango salsa and they were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deftonin66

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This recipe was delicious!!! (although I slightly modified it) I took other reviewers ideas of baking the fish first but instead of just salt and pepper I spiced it up with lemon juice, lemon pepper, garlic, cayenne and a seasoning salt. I crushed up the total amount of crackers but added til I like the consistency of the fish (about a cup and a half). So good!!! Will definitely be making these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlynnbartels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
GREAT idea for catfish- I needed to find a recipe for catfish nuggets I had in freezer- this was perfect! Some of the reviews claimed it did not have enough flavor so I doubled the seasoning- added a tad more mayo and when I boiled the fish I used a bay leaf more cajun seasonings and garlic salt. I did not mash up the fish- I just mixed it in with other intredients- was wonderful! I paired it with creole rice recipe from here that was perfect! made no alterations to recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Yummy! I followed the others, I baked the fish for 10 mins, seasoned with salt and pepper. DH loved it! Definitely a keeper! Thanks Bobbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Flavorful and scrumptious salmon cakes.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States