Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We loved these. Even my 3-year old enjoyed them, which amazed me. She ate 2 and then stole her Gramma's! I would definitely recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
As a somewhat inexperiences cook, I appreciate attention to detail. There are no cook times and because of that, my first two "crab" cakes fell apart due to my trying to see if they were brown. Other than that, this is a delicious recipe. I used tilapia instead of catfish, as they had none at the store. It turned out really great! I did not think to make a sauce, but it could have benefited from one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
These were great. I didn't know what to do with the catfish someone gave me, so I tried these and we all loved them - even my 4 year old and 6 year old. My husband actually did the cooking the night we made them - they probably tasted even better since I didn't have to do the work! We did use 3 shallots since I didn't realize I was out of onion, and an all natural Ranch yogurt salad dressing because I was afraid mayo would be too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Our family loved these! We were given catfish after a family fishing trip and none of us are fond of plain catfish, but I made these and everyone loved them... even my toddler. The only thing I would change is they were not spicy enough, I served hem with hot sauce on the side, next time I will incorporate it in the mix. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Humble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Amazing!!! Good with a side of sautéed baby ports el as, spinach, garlic and fresh tomatoes. The flavor pops from these cakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were so good! i used sweet and spicy mustard instead and used a variety of spices like paprika, pepper, cayenne, garlic powder, chili powder, salt, etc instead of the old bay. I used bread crumbs instead of crackers and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Just made this. I followed the recipe for the most part but did dredge in flour and bake in oven instead of boil. I didn't have the spice called for so I used some celery salt, crushed bay leaf, salt and pepper as well as some dill. Delish!! Super easy and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious! The only change I made to the recipe was to add more Old Bay Seasoning. My husband doesn't like crab cakes, but he really enjoyed these and asked me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I enjoyed the idea of these- a cheaper version of crab cakes. They had a great texture (I also coated with a little flour to make crisp) and they held together nicely. I would have preferred more seasonings- maybe some lemon, hot sauce, cayenne, etc. I think I will keep this in my recipe box but will try again with some stronger seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Very good and interesting recipe, and surporisingly easy to make! One criticism--I would greatly reduce the amount of onion, and definitely fry the onions in a pan first to tenderize them. Also, I slightly increased the amount of mustard and Old Bay, to give it a bit more zing. Excellent dinner, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States