Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I dont like the taste of catfish and neither does my husband, but we had some frozen that we didnt want to go to waste so i decided to make this. It turned out great with a couple tweaks: used food processor to finely chop yellow and green onion and a little each of red, yellow and orange pepper. Used ritz vegetable flavored crackers chopped finely in food processor, added 2 eggs instead of 1 and baked the fish until flakey before adding to the mix. I didnt have old bay so i seasoned the fish first, and also added my own seasonings to the mix. I saw in one review not to use too much oil but i learned from past crabcake mistakes that if you dont use enough oil to go atleast almost half way up the cake, you'll find yourself with browned top/bottom with the middle mushy and/or not cooked well. Overall I give this 2 thumbs up coming from 2 people who hate catfish, this tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Nugget

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious! Thanks for the recipe. I NEVER make fish at home, because my teenage boys don't like fish (for such huge appetites, they are incredibly picky). But I bought this Swai at the grocery store just to try it out - only to later find out, that it's basically catfish. I didn't know what to do - so I decided to try this recipe since it got such great reviews. My 15 yr old almost licked his plate clean and went back for more. My husband loved it. Even my little ones (3.5 yr & 18 mos) enjoyed it. A BIG family hit! Sadly, I did not have many of the ingredients called for so I used: Ranch dressing instead of mayo, bread crumbs instead of crackers, my own blend of spices instead of Old Bay. I also grealty reduced the onion - used about half instead a whole, and added green peppers. Next time I'll chop the onions & peppers a bit smaller to help the cakes keep their form. I'd love to give this 5 stars - but can't since I made so many modifications. Next time, I'll try it as is - or who knows, I may continue to mix it up a bit - either way - I'm so excited to find a fish dish that my whole family loves. Again - thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Palmer Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
OMG, these were delicious! I made them 99% like the recipe called for. Slightly put in flour before pan frying for browning purposes. I loved them! Mine made 6 nice sized cakes. I had 2 and my roommate had FOUR! He really did oooh and ahhh over this recipe. I served it with homemade Rémoulade that I made on a whim, corn and salad with grated egg and bleu cheese dressing. Delicious dinner. THANK YOU for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueLake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Barnard
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe, and not exclusive to catfish. I made mine with haddock, and added finely minced red pepper for color. These fry up nice and crisp without greasiness and made a hearty maine course. I think a little more Old Bay wouldn't hurt. Serve it up with a Zucchini Relish Tartar Sauce and this is a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We loved these. Even my 3-year old enjoyed them, which amazed me. She ate 2 and then stole her Gramma's! I would definitely recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
As a somewhat inexperiences cook, I appreciate attention to detail. There are no cook times and because of that, my first two "crab" cakes fell apart due to my trying to see if they were brown. Other than that, this is a delicious recipe. I used tilapia instead of catfish, as they had none at the store. It turned out really great! I did not think to make a sauce, but it could have benefited from one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
These were great. I didn't know what to do with the catfish someone gave me, so I tried these and we all loved them - even my 4 year old and 6 year old. My husband actually did the cooking the night we made them - they probably tasted even better since I didn't have to do the work! We did use 3 shallots since I didn't realize I was out of onion, and an all natural Ranch yogurt salad dressing because I was afraid mayo would be too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Our family loved these! We were given catfish after a family fishing trip and none of us are fond of plain catfish, but I made these and everyone loved them... even my toddler. The only thing I would change is they were not spicy enough, I served hem with hot sauce on the side, next time I will incorporate it in the mix. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Humble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Amazing!!! Good with a side of sautéed baby ports el as, spinach, garlic and fresh tomatoes. The flavor pops from these cakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These were so good! i used sweet and spicy mustard instead and used a variety of spices like paprika, pepper, cayenne, garlic powder, chili powder, salt, etc instead of the old bay. I used bread crumbs instead of crackers and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Flavorful and scrumptious salmon cakes.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States