Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Ugh. Dry and bland. Do not take the suggestion of dipping in flour first. It made it worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this recipe excactly as listed and the cakes were wonderful. Next time will bake the fish first and add more Old Bay seasoning and saute onion and maybe some garlic first before mixing together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Made these on a whim when I had fish to cook before it went bad. I added a few more crackers because I had a pound and a half of fish. It was great! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I dont like the taste of catfish and neither does my husband, but we had some frozen that we didnt want to go to waste so i decided to make this. It turned out great with a couple tweaks: used food processor to finely chop yellow and green onion and a little each of red, yellow and orange pepper. Used ritz vegetable flavored crackers chopped finely in food processor, added 2 eggs instead of 1 and baked the fish until flakey before adding to the mix. I didnt have old bay so i seasoned the fish first, and also added my own seasonings to the mix. I saw in one review not to use too much oil but i learned from past crabcake mistakes that if you dont use enough oil to go atleast almost half way up the cake, you'll find yourself with browned top/bottom with the middle mushy and/or not cooked well. Overall I give this 2 thumbs up coming from 2 people who hate catfish, this tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DragonMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious! Thanks for the recipe. I NEVER make fish at home, because my teenage boys don't like fish (for such huge appetites, they are incredibly picky). But I bought this Swai at the grocery store just to try it out - only to later find out, that it's basically catfish. I didn't know what to do - so I decided to try this recipe since it got such great reviews. My 15 yr old almost licked his plate clean and went back for more. My husband loved it. Even my little ones (3.5 yr & 18 mos) enjoyed it. A BIG family hit! Sadly, I did not have many of the ingredients called for so I used: Ranch dressing instead of mayo, bread crumbs instead of crackers, my own blend of spices instead of Old Bay. I also grealty reduced the onion - used about half instead a whole, and added green peppers. Next time I'll chop the onions & peppers a bit smaller to help the cakes keep their form. I'd love to give this 5 stars - but can't since I made so many modifications. Next time, I'll try it as is - or who knows, I may continue to mix it up a bit - either way - I'm so excited to find a fish dish that my whole family loves. Again - thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Palmer Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
OMG, these were delicious! I made them 99% like the recipe called for. Slightly put in flour before pan frying for browning purposes. I loved them! Mine made 6 nice sized cakes. I had 2 and my roommate had FOUR! He really did oooh and ahhh over this recipe. I served it with homemade Rémoulade that I made on a whim, corn and salad with grated egg and bleu cheese dressing. Delicious dinner. THANK YOU for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueLake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Barnard
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe, and not exclusive to catfish. I made mine with haddock, and added finely minced red pepper for color. These fry up nice and crisp without greasiness and made a hearty maine course. I think a little more Old Bay wouldn't hurt. Serve it up with a Zucchini Relish Tartar Sauce and this is a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We loved these. Even my 3-year old enjoyed them, which amazed me. She ate 2 and then stole her Gramma's! I would definitely recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
As a somewhat inexperiences cook, I appreciate attention to detail. There are no cook times and because of that, my first two "crab" cakes fell apart due to my trying to see if they were brown. Other than that, this is a delicious recipe. I used tilapia instead of catfish, as they had none at the store. It turned out really great! I did not think to make a sauce, but it could have benefited from one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
These were great. I didn't know what to do with the catfish someone gave me, so I tried these and we all loved them - even my 4 year old and 6 year old. My husband actually did the cooking the night we made them - they probably tasted even better since I didn't have to do the work! We did use 3 shallots since I didn't realize I was out of onion, and an all natural Ranch yogurt salad dressing because I was afraid mayo would be too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States