Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I tried this on whim one night and it turned out delicious!! Not one left in a house filled with very picky eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
i made these for dinner and my husband (usually picky about onions) gobbled these up. A few changes i made....i boiled the fish with a lemon and a bay leaf. also i chopped the onions then pressed them in a garlic press. also instead of crackers i buttered four pieces of white bread and toasted on both sides in the oven (because i didn't have crackers on hand). also i used regular cajun seasoning because i didn't have old bay. i also dredged the cakes in flour to give the extra crisp and hold them together better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crecookin89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious, I will definitely make these again. I did customise them a bit based on what I had in the cupboard - I used whiting fillets instead of catfish, I doubled the amount of salad dressing (I used tartare), and used fresh chopped dill instead of Old Bay seasoning. Also I used a lot less oil :) Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Wow, this is awesome. The only changes I made the second time I made it was to lightly stir fry the onions since the hubs doesn't like crunchy onions and I added the old bay to the onions to get the flavor mixed in better, I also lightly dusted the cakes with flour, HOWEVER, don't use to much flour or you will get a burnt flavor towards the end of the batch from all the flour in the oil. Would make great fish sandwich patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe to make use of a lot of leftover fried catfish from a Boy Scout cookout. I removed the excess breading and chopped the catfish in the food processor. I added sauteed onion and red bell pepper. I used a little more Old Bay seasoning and only 2 cups of crackers and 2 eggs. They are fantastic! Great base recipe to tweak to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is a great recipe--easy, quick and sooo delicious! I used swai fillets, reduced fat crackers and mayo and I don't think they were missing a thing. Family all agreed that this one is a definite keeper...thank u for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. BliSs
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I've made this recipe twice so far and I love it! It's one of those recipes that tastes like it took a tone of work but really didn't. Instead of Old Bay Seasoning, I lightly seasoned them with Seasoned Salt, Pepper, Garlic Salt and a little sage. Before I fried them, I coated them with a little seafood breader. This gave em' a light crispy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. BliSs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
So easy! Very good alternative to crab. I needed a little more spice but this is a great base recipe to start with! I think I'll do a southwestern style next time with cilantro and corn in the mix. I will definitely add it to my arsenal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
bake the fish first. i spread mayonnaise on the catfish,sprinkled old bay, and then baked them until they just started to pull apart. this way the meat was chunkier, not flaky. i sauteed the onions with 1/2 a jalapeno-seeds and all. mixed it all together. added 1 tbsp franks hot sauce. barely used 2 cups of ritz crackers. the mixture was a little wet, but it held together nicely and the cakes were not dry at all. finally i coated them in panko bread crumbs -made them nice and crunchy on the outside. next time i would add more old bay to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nags Head, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Love it! So easy to make but very tasty. It turns out the best when you use the amount of vegetable oil mentioned but I have also used Pam to cut back on some of the calories in this dish and that works really well. You just have to be a bit more careful and move the cakes around often so they don't get stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lukar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States