Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Loved this recipe.I used Bass not catfish and I added a few more spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeEllen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Excellent. Took others advice and baked at 450 for 15 minutes instead of boiling. Used a sleeve of Ritz and that worked great for us. What a great option for fish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goodland, Kansas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I've had crab cakes before and didn't care for them. My daughter and her boyfriend wanted to try this recipe, though. I loved this recipe!! We'll definitely be making these again! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This recipe is much better than crab cakes! Very good cold the next day, also. One of my favorite, thanks, Bobby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Good, different way to eat catfish. Dense. No substitute for crab or crab cakes though. It's very clear this isn't crab!! Way too much onion - 1/3 or half it. Needed seasoning! By far not enough Old Bay! Spouse did not like, I thought they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I couldn't keep the cakes together, they didn't form patties very well. Flavor was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Husband tickled pink with these. These didn't win me over YET, but, to me, they are a tad better than crab cakes (which I despise). With mods, I hope we all love these soon./Didn't have butter crackers: used saltines: Hubs loved these anyway. We rarely buy butter crackers, so saltines, or bread crumbs, or seasoned bread crumbs need to work most of the time. I agree that the breading/filling was too heavy; however, if I had used butter crackers (which I love), I might have felt differently. B) These were a bit bland: which has an easy fix./NEXT TIME PLANS: 1) make fish earlier in the week then use leftover fish for these cakes, 2) sub some sweet peppers for onion when available, 3) add 2 cloves garlic & good dash garlic powder, 4) double mustard, & use brown or powdered mustard, 5) use only 3/4 C of crumbs at first, then add more IF needed, 5) use tartar sauce instead of mayo IF wanting to emphasize dill & lemon flavor, 6) change up seasonings-try: splash of lemon juice, touch of lemon zest, dash of hot sauce, one T. parmesan 7) double Old Bay OR, sub dill & black pepper, or sage & lemon pepper, or cajun seasoning, or garam masala, or jalapeno, cilantro & corn. 8) Try 2 T oil @ 1st 9) mix in the a.m., 10) if dredging in flower, do so only lightly to avoid burning flour. 11) try malt vinegar, hot sauce, sauteed jalapenos, honey-mustard-onion relish, tartar sauce, lemon juice, ranch, chutney, white sc from allrecipes fish taco recipe, fruit salsa, chipotle in mayo, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I tried this on whim one night and it turned out delicious!! Not one left in a house filled with very picky eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
i made these for dinner and my husband (usually picky about onions) gobbled these up. A few changes i made....i boiled the fish with a lemon and a bay leaf. also i chopped the onions then pressed them in a garlic press. also instead of crackers i buttered four pieces of white bread and toasted on both sides in the oven (because i didn't have crackers on hand). also i used regular cajun seasoning because i didn't have old bay. i also dredged the cakes in flour to give the extra crisp and hold them together better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crecookin89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious, I will definitely make these again. I did customise them a bit based on what I had in the cupboard - I used whiting fillets instead of catfish, I doubled the amount of salad dressing (I used tartare), and used fresh chopped dill instead of Old Bay seasoning. Also I used a lot less oil :) Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Scrumptious Salmon Cakes

Flavorful and scrumptious salmon cakes.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States