Catfish Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This recipe is much better than crab cakes! Very good cold the next day, also. One of my favorite, thanks, Bobby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Good, different way to eat catfish. Dense. No substitute for crab or crab cakes though. It's very clear this isn't crab!! Way too much onion - 1/3 or half it. Needed seasoning! By far not enough Old Bay! Spouse did not like, I thought they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I couldn't keep the cakes together, they didn't form patties very well. Flavor was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Husband tickled pink with these. These didn't win me over YET, but, to me, they are a tad better than crab cakes (which I despise). With mods, I hope we all love these soon./Didn't have butter crackers: used saltines: Hubs loved these anyway. We rarely buy butter crackers, so saltines, or bread crumbs, or seasoned bread crumbs need to work most of the time. I agree that the breading/filling was too heavy; however, if I had used butter crackers (which I love), I might have felt differently. B) These were a bit bland: which has an easy fix./NEXT TIME PLANS: 1) make fish earlier in the week then use leftover fish for these cakes, 2) sub some sweet peppers for onion when available, 3) add 2 cloves garlic & good dash garlic powder, 4) double mustard, & use brown or powdered mustard, 5) use only 3/4 C of crumbs at first, then add more IF needed, 5) use tartar sauce instead of mayo IF wanting to emphasize dill & lemon flavor, 6) change up seasonings-try: splash of lemon juice, touch of lemon zest, dash of hot sauce, one T. parmesan 7) double Old Bay OR, sub dill & black pepper, or sage & lemon pepper, or cajun seasoning, or garam masala, or jalapeno, cilantro & corn. 8) Try 2 T oil @ 1st 9) mix in the a.m., 10) if dredging in flower, do so only lightly to avoid burning flour. 11) try malt vinegar, hot sauce, sauteed jalapenos, honey-mustard-onion relish, tartar sauce, lemon juice, ranch, chutney, white sc from allrecipes fish taco recipe, fruit salsa, chipotle in mayo, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I tried this on whim one night and it turned out delicious!! Not one left in a house filled with very picky eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
i made these for dinner and my husband (usually picky about onions) gobbled these up. A few changes i made....i boiled the fish with a lemon and a bay leaf. also i chopped the onions then pressed them in a garlic press. also instead of crackers i buttered four pieces of white bread and toasted on both sides in the oven (because i didn't have crackers on hand). also i used regular cajun seasoning because i didn't have old bay. i also dredged the cakes in flour to give the extra crisp and hold them together better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crecookin89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious, I will definitely make these again. I did customise them a bit based on what I had in the cupboard - I used whiting fillets instead of catfish, I doubled the amount of salad dressing (I used tartare), and used fresh chopped dill instead of Old Bay seasoning. Also I used a lot less oil :) Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Wow, this is awesome. The only changes I made the second time I made it was to lightly stir fry the onions since the hubs doesn't like crunchy onions and I added the old bay to the onions to get the flavor mixed in better, I also lightly dusted the cakes with flour, HOWEVER, don't use to much flour or you will get a burnt flavor towards the end of the batch from all the flour in the oil. Would make great fish sandwich patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe to make use of a lot of leftover fried catfish from a Boy Scout cookout. I removed the excess breading and chopped the catfish in the food processor. I added sauteed onion and red bell pepper. I used a little more Old Bay seasoning and only 2 cups of crackers and 2 eggs. They are fantastic! Great base recipe to tweak to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is a great recipe--easy, quick and sooo delicious! I used swai fillets, reduced fat crackers and mayo and I don't think they were missing a thing. Family all agreed that this one is a definite keeper...thank u for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States