Cast-Iron Skillet Prime Rib Roast and Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Just perfect!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I have done this a few times now. It always turns out perfect. I love cast iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Omg my mother in law said it couldn't be done making gravy out of a prime rib! Thanks for proving her wrong! It was sooo good she only took leftover gravy home! We also had some good fun while making it with the chunks of onions and thyme sprigs she looked at me like I was crazy! I said no worries if it fails I have package gravy! Lol no packets needed! Definetly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Wonderful flavor and so easy to make this. Will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
al99 knows of what he speaks! I made this recipe and for that meal, I was the world's best chef. The prime rib was tender, rich and full-flavored; therefore the accompanying gravy was perfect. I cannot wait for the next "occasion" (dinner?) to have an excuse to make this absolutely out-of-this-world meal. Everyone loved it and I was asked for the recipe by all who shared the meal with us. I gave all the credit to al99 and allrecipes.com! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This roast was great. I added garlic to the rub and mushrooms with the onions. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I typically doctor up recipes to my liking, this time I used the recommended ingredients. Only needed 2 minutes on each side to sear on med high cast iron, 3 minutes would have overcooked. I used a lot more red wine than called for, which really hit the spot as the ribs were roasting. I also added the stock over time - only about 2/3 of recommended- to allow it to reduce. I have tried several of the rib roast recipes on this site, and while all of them have been good this one is the absolute bomb. There are lots of ways to roast a rib, but the cast sear is THE way to go. And the from scratch gravy is basic but it dominates - I recommend adding it to everything you serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Rishel Konig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Of all the prime rib recipes I've made, this is THE BEST. Easy, one-pan method that makes an incredible gravy. Don't expect the gravy to be thick, it's more like a very pourable, coat the back of a spoon gravy. Don't be afraid to add the beef juices to your gravy that accumulate from the resting (foil covered) rib roast. I didn't sear the roast dry, but added just the thinnest layer of canola oil & a pat of unsalted butter to create a nice brown sear. One of my dinner guest said this was the best tasting, fork licking prime rib he ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Motherheart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Delicious Christmas Dinner! My husband made this for our family Christmas dinner and it was absolutely delicious!! He prepared it as directed in the recipe and the beef melted in your mouth. He received rave reviews. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I am TERRIBLE at cooking roast....but this turned out perfect and the gravy is magnificent. I would serve with mashed potatoes or fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennylaika

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States