Cassie's Wishy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe inspired me. I followed the recipe with these changes: Only 1 tsp of salt (5 tablespoons has to be a typo), I used 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder (i didn't have cloves), I added 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, and no water. I covered my chicken breast with the sauce and baked it in the oven, covered with foil, at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. I served it with mashed potatoes and broccoli. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I've never gone wrong with chicken with the help of this site. Good solid chicken. However, we're salt conscious so I did cut down on the salt...this was also important b/c I omitted the water. I simply put the chicken in a gallon bag and filled it with the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Good marinade...used skinless chicken thigh cut way down on salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocojo

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I was slightly hesitant to try this recipe after seeing some of the negative reviews, but the recipe came out GREAT!!! For six chicken breast halves, I used: 1 T. lemon juice, 1/2 t. salt, 1/2 t. pepper, 1 1/2 t. parsley, 1 T. or so pre-minced garlic, 3 T. thousand island dressing, and 1 c. water. I marinated overnight in a Ziploc bag and baked for 35-40 minutes at 350°. The original listed salt amount might have been too much, but keep in mind that the original recipe calls for a whole 4 lb. chicken! This was so easy and had SO MUCH FLAVOR!! I’m not the kind to have a standard set of recipes that I choose my dinners from (too many new things to cook and eat!!); however, there is a small handful of especially amazing dishes that get repeated in my house and Cassie’s Wishy Chicken has found a spot among them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Good but too salty, even though I cut it back to 3 tablespoons. I skinned my chicken, and the skin may absorb salt (I also used lime instead of lemon and Annie's Green Goddess dressing instead of 1000 island). Anyway, I will definitely make this super easy and adaptable recipe again, but I'll try it next with 1 tablespoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I used boneless chicken breasts and completely omitted the salt (we are on a low sodium diet). I marinated it for 9 hours them baked it in the marinade at 350 for 20 minutes then grilled it to add some color and smoky flavor. It was moist, juicy and very tasty. The family loved it and wanted to know what the recipe called for but I did not tell them the secret was Thousand Island dressing (out little secret) ;). Thanks Curt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseJanice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
i agree this is way too salty, it may be okay without the salt but i dont wanna try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I thought this was great and not too salty. I marinated my chicken parts overnight, then baked in a 400 degree oven for an hour. My 8 year old declared this to be the best chicken ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
My family loved this chicken. My one suggestion is to have a drip pan under the bbq. The next time I used my used my bbq I had a big flare up. Another great idea for chicken! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
This was very easy to make- mix up the marinade, and leave the chicken in the fridge while at work. Despite other reviews, I did not find this too salty. Yes-it does seem like a lot of salt when you see it in the marinade, but after the chicken is cooked, you'll be glad you put it in! Excellent, moist chicken with lots of flavor. I used bone in chicken breast, and baked in the oven. My husband and 2 year old ate this with no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Good Frickin' Paprika Chicken

See how to make a yogurt-based marinade for grilled paprika chicken.

How to Grill Chicken Better

Get tips for prepping and grilling crusty, juicy chicken.

Chef John's Calabrian Chicken

The flavors of Calabria, Italy, inspired this grilled chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States