Cassata Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
This recipe is GREAT as I said in my first review. Perfect cassata cake that is even better than any NYC Italian bakery I have ever tasted because it is not sickly sweet and made with fresh filling rather than bagged pre-made filling. ***BUT*** DO NOT use the chocolate glaze for the top...I always use the whipped cream frosting (made with a teaspoon of gelatin) from this website. I have never seen nor have I had Cassata cake with chocolate glaze. The combination of this cake with that frosting is PERFECT!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This was a fantastic cake. Every year I purchase a cassata cake from a local italian bakery for my dad for father's day. This year I decided to give it a try on my own. He absolutely loved it. I did make a few substitutions based on the cassata cakes that we have enjoyed in the past. I substituted mini chocolate chips instead of the grated chocolate & I omitted the candied lemon peel. I also left off the chocolate glaze (I have never seen this on a cassata cake) and instead substituted a whipped cream frosting, also from this website. I also used a vanilla flavored light rum for the filling. My entire family loved this one, I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2000
this is an excellent recipe. i've used it at least five times since i found it. the cassata cake turns out better than the ones i had from the italian bakery when i was little, and those were pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
If you put a circle of icing around the edge of the cake before you add the filling it will not ooze out. I usually fill a freezer zip bag and clip one of the ends. Run a big enough edge to prevent the filling from coming out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I make this all the time for my 100% Italian In-laws. Its a great recipe! I make the filling and cake a day ahead and drain the filling so its not so "gooey". I also use a whipped cream frosting all over the cake and top it with dark chocolate shavings. Its really incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This cake was a huge hit! though i gave it 4 out of 5 stars because i was upset before i had a peice. it took me about 5 hours to make this cake. I only had one cake pan, and one mixer going, and made three instead of 2 layers, regurdless its very time consuming, but very worth it. now the reason i was upset was because the filling is so gewy it does not stay between the layers very well, especially since this is a pretty heavy cake. and i was prepared to do some very nice cake decorating, but the filling kept oozing out and mixing in with the frosting, witch by the way i used cheesecake frosting instead of what this recipe required...and it was a big hit, im sure especially because the filling and the cheescake frosting mixed a bit on the outside as well...yumm...also due to the three layers, witch i decided to do because two didnt look enough...the cake was tipping a little bit, i think if the filling wasnt so slippery and alittle more solid it would have worked better, but hey it taste good...sooo...i am definetly going to make this cake again...however, i am going to use two layers and make each layer with an extra 1/2 the amount to make them alittle bigger...before i put the filling in im gonna hallow the cake alittle bit so the filling will stay in better...and im still gonna use the cheesecake frosting because is was such a big hit...also im gonna buy another cake pan hahaha...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spritegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
anyone making this recipe should be aware when you buy ricotta cheese, there are two types, one specifically for baking and one not! the baking variety has less water content therefore will not be as runny. The brands sold in most grocery stores have a high water content, especially Tre Sella brand. you could let it sit over a colander overnight to help release water or just buy different brand. I like Salerno from the grocery stores if i cannot get to the specialty store. Good cake everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
The cake was excellent. I made it for a family birthday and everyone wanted seconds even those who aren't fans of ricotta cheese. I followed all instructions as directed for the spongy cake. But made a few variations in the filling and final assembly. Instead of chocolate squares, I used mini chips to save time. I also omitted the candied lemon peel and the rum (personal preference). And instead of a chocolate glaze, I used a plain whipped cream for the frosting and pressed sliced almonds on the outside. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
YUCK! This was awful and didnt taste like any canolli I've ever tasted in my 27 years(and I'm from Philly and now live in NYC where there are awesome italian bakeries and restaurants). Using semi-sweet chocolate on the top was not a good idea because the filling wasnt sweet enough to offset the bitterness of the chocolate. Also, I found that the filling didnt thicken enough, it was way too runny. I wouldnt recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I stole the cake only part of this recipe and used it for a strawberry shortcake/layer cake. I had trouble finding a sponge cake recipe I liked; this worked GREAT and was delicious! It's a great base cake for fruits - very light and lovely. Note: I found lining the pans with parchment paper difficult. Spraying with non-stick cooking spray (or buttering) and then flouring works just fine. Thanks for the recipe - i'll try the whole thing next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States